Customer reviews for Garnier Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)

Garnier Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)

Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(313 reviews) 313
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 313 reviews
5 Stars
224
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
7
1 Star
28
276 out of 313(88%)reviewers recommend
Customer reviews for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Review 1 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not even close to the color on the box!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Cloud4
from Hesperia, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I've been coloring my hair since I was 12, so i've done this a few times. I usually dye my hair red and I was looking for a brighter red. This one looked exactly like what I wanted. Followed the directions & set my timer. After rinsing it out and drying it I was less then excited about the end result. You could barely see the RED at all. It was so dark, almost brown. I can see the red when i'm out in the sun, but that's about it. Defiantly didn't end up w/the results I wanted. Now i'm stuck waiting for this dark color to fade so I can dye it back to the red I wanted. Very disappointed!!
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO gray coverage

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Doreen
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I color my hair to cover the gray and this product did nothing. The color was fine but not covering the gray was a total disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My light brown with grey hair turned brassy red with this color

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
JudyF
from Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
At no point did I believe that I would end up with red hair using this color--Cocoa Bean #43. On the box, it indicated that the result would be a golden brown. However, I now have pumpkin colored hair!! I started out with greying light brown hair. Gosh! It's embarrassing. Now what do I do? Unfortunately, customer service was closed on the day that I dyed my hair and tried to reach them to ask for suggestions on how to remedy it. I wondered if the package had been mislabeled or if the wrong bottle of color had been put in the wrong box!! I will not use Garner again, as I wonder if I can trust the label for containing the color that is indicated?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

results are not good!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
HeatherFeather
from Loveland, OH, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I tried this color as I wanted to go red on my hair for winter. I put this over dark blonde hair and the results were terrible! My roots were fire red and the rest of my hair had random red patches all over! I have literally tried to correct the color all week and spent ALOT of money. Dont use this color!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awesome!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Mich101
from Sumter, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Dark
Garnier haircolor is the best I have used! The color is natural, it doesn't wash out, and rinses clean while coloring. It is a pleasure not to have more haircolor in my towel than in my hair!
It also covers gray 100% and the natural highlights are great!
Worth every penny. A coupon every now and then would be nice though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Addition to previous post

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Depressed
from Colorado, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I saw after I posted that all the comments for all colors are listed together, so I figured I'd tell you I used #66 True Red. And I don't know what the ingredient is that smells, but it still smelled odd and my cat wouldn't come anywhere near me while I was dying my hair and she still wants nothing to do with me afterwards as well. Sure hope the smell goes away soon.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Blonde hair dye that turns your hair black!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
YME53
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I used Butternut, medium Natural Blonde to cover my roots. The colour I had was light blonde. I used Nutrisse to cover my light blonde and came out with black! Not what I was going for! Black is not even on the box of possbile colours you hair will come out as when you use this product!
My 23 year old daughter summed up the colour in one word...eww!
I will be changing this colour...with Nice and Easy that has NEVER turned my hair black!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Review for #76

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
LilChrissy
from Frenchtown, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I will never use this again! This was nothing like the pictures! Also, "Hot Tamale" is only on the lid to the box, not on the front. I look like a hot tamale and my sister's wedding is in four days! Hope it dulls in a few days or the 'fix' Garnier suggested works. Wish they would bring back #94 or #67.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very good.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Briannnnna
from Alachua, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I bought the Deep Burgundy hair dye, and I had my mom put it on. I had bought two bottles just because one bottle is never quite enough. My hair is only shoulder length, so two bottles was a bit much but one wasn't enough. My hair was completely covered, and it took forever to wash out. But when I dried my hair, the roots were extremely bright and the length was still brownish (like you can still see my natural light brown hair color). I am very dissatisfied, especially because I got two bottles and it was more than enough. This was my first time using Garnier, and I probably won't being using it again. It was quite a waste, and I don't know what to do to my hair because its half brown and burgundy. Its going to be 70 dollars to get it color corrected. I am extremely bummed out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the same color.

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Jenni13
from Warrenton, VA, USA
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
My hair is light brown. I tried coloring for the first time, and i wanted the champagne color. After following all directions, my hair turned out red/orange.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My hair is now red. Not the intended color.

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
jandlg
from Texas, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I usually use a different brand of hair color in either dark blonde or light brown. This was on sale, so I decided to give it a try. Bad decision. My hair is now red. I don't want red hair. Now I have to risk over-treating my hair in an effort to get it a color I can live with. Not happy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why on earth did you discontinue this color?

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Kemxg
from Albany, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
As with all the other reviews, this color was perfect and I cannot believe you discontinued it. I had to change brands to find a similar shade and I have to admit, it doesn't condition as well as the Garnier product, but the color is almost exact and you have lost a previously very faithful customer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
KTMARIE097
from Blaine, MN, USA
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
just so everyone knows, i had my mom dye my hair and she has been dying hair for a very long time, this is a terrible product, it didnt even change my hair color at all. it was light brown and now after i dyed my hair, the only thing that changed was my roots it just changed my roots WHITE and the bottom half of my hair turned more of a darker brown!!! on top of everything else, my hair is more dried put then ever! i would never reccomend this product. i wouldnt even have my worst enemy use this on there hair!!!!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Turned my light brown hair RED!!!

PostedJanuary 21, 2013
Customer avatar
unhappilyredhead
from Los Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
Horrified at the result. My hair is normally light brown with blonde highlights. I started getting too many gray hairs to pluck so I took the plunge & tried this after my friend recommended it. I followed the directions exactly but my hair turned a peroxide looking reddish brown. NOTHING like the color on the package. Really terrible. I am sitting with a combination of crushed vitamin C & shampoo on my head hoping it will rinse some of this disaster out of my hair. This is EXACTLY why I have put off coloring my hair before. RUN AWAY FROM THIS PRODUCT.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
7of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the color on box

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Customer avatar
Ellie08
from Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I bought the dark reddish brown color not knowing the color on the box was nothing like the color my hair would end up being. It turned out almost black not red at all. I wanted to go back to the auburn color that I had been in the past, but this product was extremely disappointing. I am not sure I will try this brand again with the reds. I had been using the light brown (my hair is naturally medium brown) and it still came out darker than the box color. Now I have to wait to recolor or go to a salon and pay 10 times more than the box of hair color to get it corrected.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Lets go dramatic...no lets not

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
greeneyelady
from Scottsdale, AZ, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have natural med brown hair with some grey. i wanted to add deep undertones burgundy. I feel the color label was misleading. the result( 15 minute application) was the deepest, darkest eggplant color. I never thought existed. having green eyes, purple is recommended for contrasting results. this did not work for me.
.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

awful

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
muffin
from nj
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
i will never use this product or anything with this product name ever again...the color wasnt even close to being anything the box described now i have to go out tomorrow and get more hair color and fix this...u cant even describe the color...never again!!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
2of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Darker then the box! And where did the red come from?

PostedSeptember 13, 2012
Customer avatar
BeautifullyBroken
from Riverside, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have naturally darkish blonde hair. My hair has got darker as i've aged. Comparing my hair to the boxes I decided to use Med Natural Blonde 80 to give my hair a slightly lighter look. From what the side of the box showed it should have lighten up a couple shades of blonde but to my dismay when it was all said and done my hair was actually darker and reddish. Ewe not what i was looking for at all. I'm kind of a dark strawberry blonde now. Even my finance asked "how did that happen?" I'm going to try a lighter shade and according to how the reviews sound i might go with a light ash to keep that red tint from happening again. Wish me luck...i'll let you know how it turns out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
4of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Permanent? Hardly!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Customer avatar
blonde81302
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I tried this product twice, and although I like the color, it comes out after 2 washes! Big waste of money!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
4of 14voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nutrisse 42 Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Turned my hair brown

PostedJune 22, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
My hair is naturally a color very similar to the one on the box, and because my hair lacks dimension, I thought dying it a similar color would give my hair some highlights and low lights, and it turned my naturally red hair BROWN. I'm not really sure if it was something I did, or if it was just the hair dye, but I followed the instructions, and now I have brown hair. I'm still waiting to see if it will mellow out, but if not I'm going to have to find another product to restore my hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
5of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 16 next>>