Customer reviews for LOREAL Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)

LOREAL Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)

Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating:
4.295 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(332 reviews) 332
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 332 reviews
5 Stars
233
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
12
2 Stars
9
1 Star
35
286 out of 332(86%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Review 1 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for me!!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
MKDR
So I thought after seeing the commercials on TV that it looked like a fabulous product...well I have been coloring my hair for 4 years using Nice & Easy 121A (I have black hair and wanted to tame the silver sparkles) and I have had great luck with this product but thought because it has no ammonia this may be a welcome change. It did not work. Not even a smidge. I followed the instructions closely and left it on a bit longer because I already dye my hair. It is more expensive than Nice & Easy and no where near the same results. I was so disappointed:((
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got RED when I wanted BROWN

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
rosemarrie04
Age:18-24
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have naturally dark dark brown hair. I previously had subtle highlights which really grew out bad. I decided to just get rid of them overall. I bought this thinking it would just go over the highlights and not change my natural color too much because its darker than the box. But was I wrong! Yes, it took care of my highlights... by turning them red! And not only that, the roots turned red too, everything R-E-D. Its a pretty color, but I happen to hate red... Pretty confused because I've actually done this before. Not sure if I got the wrong color or what. I like this brand overall, so Im just going to try a darker color and see what happens. I would not recommend this color at all if you are looking for something brown.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst hair color EVER!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
blantonkendall
Age:18-24
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Dark
I bought two bottles of the burgundy #62 for darker hair. My hair is dark brown and I was expecting at least a little tint. I wear extensions in my hair and the color was able to lift on my extensions (very little). The color did not take in my natural hair at all! I literally have streaks of burgundy color in my hair! I would think that for hair that actually has follicles, it would lift more than the hair without! I am completely unsatisfied with the result of this product, and now I have to wait about a week before I can change it. I will never use this hair color again! great hair care products, horrible color!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Discontinue this line

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
uglycolor
I dread waiting to safely recolor. It not only neglected to cover gray roots but highlighted them, due to overall damaged appearance; detangling is like pulling loofah thru molasses -- garbage & waste of money.
I bought it accidently & worried because the hairspray from this line is awful as well
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Lpennell7971
Age:18-24
Prior to using this product earlier this evening, I had (and now still have) light brown hair. Post use I have the added bonus of very blonde roots, and nothing else.
I followed the directions verbatim- applied to the darkest regions first and ended with my roots ten minutes before the processing time was over, just to be sure not to over-process, for all the good that did me. I saturated all of my hair very carefully and processed for 30 minutes because my hair is coarse.
But lo and behold, I showered and could already tell it hadn't actually changed my hair color by much, but blow dried to find that it wasn't any lighter. Except for the roots of course, which are now completely identical to the shade on the box.
It's not a good look.
I regret buying this product and will now have to purchase another, different brand of dye to repair my hair. Very dissatisfied. I've usually had great results using garnier's hair color products, but after this would hesitate to buy anything from them again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely disappointed

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Luvsbtrflies
Age:35-44
I will never use this again. In the 17 years I have been dying my hair a product has never changed my hair texture like this. My hair was soft and damage free and now it's greasy and full of build up after dying it with this product. No matter how many times I wash it, it still feels gross. I've tried 3 shampoos and nothing helps. The only thing I can do at this point is try dying it with another product and hope my hair goes back to normal!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
seanthebegger
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I am always pleased with Garnier they are my favorite and only hair product I have EVER used. This color is so untoned at places. It gave me such a vibrant bright color at the top like the color on the box but had faded into a brownish color at the middle to bottom. I am so unpleased with this. I am hoping you guys could tell me how to fix this. i followed every instruction on the box as I always do. Ever other hair color I have used with this product I had no problem with.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not even close to the color on the box!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
Cloud4
from Hesperia, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I've been coloring my hair since I was 12, so i've done this a few times. I usually dye my hair red and I was looking for a brighter red. This one looked exactly like what I wanted. Followed the directions & set my timer. After rinsing it out and drying it I was less then excited about the end result. You could barely see the RED at all. It was so dark, almost brown. I can see the red when i'm out in the sun, but that's about it. Defiantly didn't end up w/the results I wanted. Now i'm stuck waiting for this dark color to fade so I can dye it back to the red I wanted. Very disappointed!!
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
-13points
8of 29voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO gray coverage

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Doreen
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I color my hair to cover the gray and this product did nothing. The color was fine but not covering the gray was a total disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My light brown with grey hair turned brassy red with this color

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
JudyF
from Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
At no point did I believe that I would end up with red hair using this color--Cocoa Bean #43. On the box, it indicated that the result would be a golden brown. However, I now have pumpkin colored hair!! I started out with greying light brown hair. Gosh! It's embarrassing. Now what do I do? Unfortunately, customer service was closed on the day that I dyed my hair and tried to reach them to ask for suggestions on how to remedy it. I wondered if the package had been mislabeled or if the wrong bottle of color had been put in the wrong box!! I will not use Garner again, as I wonder if I can trust the label for containing the color that is indicated?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
7of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

results are not good!

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Customer avatar
HeatherFeather
from Loveland, OH, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I tried this color as I wanted to go red on my hair for winter. I put this over dark blonde hair and the results were terrible! My roots were fire red and the rest of my hair had random red patches all over! I have literally tried to correct the color all week and spent ALOT of money. Dont use this color!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
0of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Awesome!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Mich101
from Sumter, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Dark
Garnier haircolor is the best I have used! The color is natural, it doesn't wash out, and rinses clean while coloring. It is a pleasure not to have more haircolor in my towel than in my hair!
It also covers gray 100% and the natural highlights are great!
Worth every penny. A coupon every now and then would be nice though.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Addition to previous post

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Customer avatar
Depressed
from Colorado, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I saw after I posted that all the comments for all colors are listed together, so I figured I'd tell you I used #66 True Red. And I don't know what the ingredient is that smells, but it still smelled odd and my cat wouldn't come anywhere near me while I was dying my hair and she still wants nothing to do with me afterwards as well. Sure hope the smell goes away soon.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Blonde hair dye that turns your hair black!

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Customer avatar
YME53
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I used Butternut, medium Natural Blonde to cover my roots. The colour I had was light blonde. I used Nutrisse to cover my light blonde and came out with black! Not what I was going for! Black is not even on the box of possbile colours you hair will come out as when you use this product!
My 23 year old daughter summed up the colour in one word...eww!
I will be changing this colour...with Nice and Easy that has NEVER turned my hair black!
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
4of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Review for #76

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Customer avatar
LilChrissy
from Frenchtown, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I will never use this again! This was nothing like the pictures! Also, "Hot Tamale" is only on the lid to the box, not on the front. I look like a hot tamale and my sister's wedding is in four days! Hope it dulls in a few days or the 'fix' Garnier suggested works. Wish they would bring back #94 or #67.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
5of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not very good.

PostedJune 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Briannnnna
from Alachua, FL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I bought the Deep Burgundy hair dye, and I had my mom put it on. I had bought two bottles just because one bottle is never quite enough. My hair is only shoulder length, so two bottles was a bit much but one wasn't enough. My hair was completely covered, and it took forever to wash out. But when I dried my hair, the roots were extremely bright and the length was still brownish (like you can still see my natural light brown hair color). I am very dissatisfied, especially because I got two bottles and it was more than enough. This was my first time using Garnier, and I probably won't being using it again. It was quite a waste, and I don't know what to do to my hair because its half brown and burgundy. Its going to be 70 dollars to get it color corrected. I am extremely bummed out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
7of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not the same color.

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Jenni13
from Warrenton, VA, USA
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
My hair is light brown. I tried coloring for the first time, and i wanted the champagne color. After following all directions, my hair turned out red/orange.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-8points
3of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My hair is now red. Not the intended color.

PostedMarch 1, 2013
Customer avatar
jandlg
from Texas, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I usually use a different brand of hair color in either dark blonde or light brown. This was on sale, so I decided to give it a try. Bad decision. My hair is now red. I don't want red hair. Now I have to risk over-treating my hair in an effort to get it a color I can live with. Not happy.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
6of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Why on earth did you discontinue this color?

PostedFebruary 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Kemxg
from Albany, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
As with all the other reviews, this color was perfect and I cannot believe you discontinued it. I had to change brands to find a similar shade and I have to admit, it doesn't condition as well as the Garnier product, but the color is almost exact and you have lost a previously very faithful customer.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy (Black Cherry)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

terrible.

PostedJanuary 23, 2013
Customer avatar
KTMARIE097
from Blaine, MN, USA
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
just so everyone knows, i had my mom dye my hair and she has been dying hair for a very long time, this is a terrible product, it didnt even change my hair color at all. it was light brown and now after i dyed my hair, the only thing that changed was my roots it just changed my roots WHITE and the bottom half of my hair turned more of a darker brown!!! on top of everything else, my hair is more dried put then ever! i would never reccomend this product. i wouldnt even have my worst enemy use this on there hair!!!!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 17 next>>