Customer reviews for LOREAL Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy

LOREAL Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy

Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating:
4.193 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(363 reviews) 363
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 363 reviews
5 Stars
245
4 Stars
47
3 Stars
13
2 Stars
12
1 Star
46
303 out of 363(83%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Review 1 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HATE IT!!!!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I cannot believe that my hair is red!? I thought I was going to have more brown tones. There is nothing brown about this product. I haven't been a red head since high school. And my hair is more mahogany then I would ever prefer. This isnt BROWN?!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCJanuary 13, 2016
We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed in your color result. There are many reasons why hair color can turn out differently than expected. We'd like to help. Please give us a call at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST. Give the rep reference number 774134
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again

PostedDecember 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I used this product to dye over my medium blonde hair since my original red was fading really fast and I was very excited for some more bright red. I couldn't have been more wrong about how this color would come out. Not only did the color not stick to any of my blonde but the little bit of red that was left in my hair around my roots has been turned a disgusting dark mahogany color and all of my hair has been left with a gross brown tint. This dye turned me into a dingy brunette, which I'm a brunette naturally so if I wanted brown hair I wouldn't have been dying it for the last 10 years. And if the fact that my hair color is completely destroyed, less than 24 hours before the Christmas party I'm supposed to have bright red hair for, isn't enough my hair health is also completely down the tubes. Nourishing oils is a total lie. My hair wasn't the healthiest but I also do conditioning treatments directly after dying my hair which leaves it very soft and even that wasn't enough to help me not be totally fried. I'm trying to grow my hair out and I now need to cut off a good 2 or 3 inches of chemical disaster. I have done a lot to my hair over the years, I have been every color under the sun and even bleached multiple times in one day, I have been a careless unknowledgeable young teen with no regard to hydration and chemicals and I still have never once experienced a situation this terrible with my hair. I never thought id actually cry after a dye job or ever be upset enough to actually take time to write a review but here I am. I was forced to give this one star.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccJanuary 6, 2016
Hi! We are so sorry you were not satisfied with your haircolor results. We would love to help. Can you call us directly at 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9A-7P ET and give ref# 746550? Looking forward to hearing from you!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too dark, not what is advertised

PostedSeptember 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I've used several shades of the Garnier Nutrisse line and they've worked out great in the past but I had a horrible experience with this particular shade. I started with a (dyed) medium auburn shade. My roots were showing (about a 1/2") so I wanted to return back to something closer to my natural hair color and chose to give this shade a try--it looks awesome on the box. After 25 minutes what was suppose to end up a "Light Natural Brown" came out nearly black. What's worse is I still have the original red showing throughout in blotches! I have short fine hair, so I had plenty of product for coverage; I mixed the entire amount and applied it evenly from root to tip but the new color did not provide full coverage at all. I have 10+ years experience coloring my own hair and have never had results like these. I'm very disappointed with this product and would not use it again nor recommend it to anyone. I hope correcting it will not cause too much damage to my fine hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccSeptember 9, 2015
Let us help! Please give us a call @ 1.800 442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Please give ref # 457903
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not sure I'd recommend or not

PostedSeptember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have been coloring my hair with Garnier for a long time. I bought a True Red number 66 over the weekend, the same color I always get, this time nothing. It has been a while since I colored my hair too. You can't tell I colored my hair at all. Very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do you have thick asain hair?

PostedSeptember 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
Then dont even bother buying this. I checked the color at the 30 minute mark, barely any lightening had happened. Then I checked again at the 40 minute mark and barely any change. I decided not to push it and rinse it out, my hair is a touch lighter to a deep redish orange instead of the brown I had before.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccSeptember 4, 2015
We are sorry to hear this! Let us help! Please give us a call 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Please give ref # 453512
-7points
3of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Purple Hair...

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have currently used the product above, and I always use Garnier. It is a wonderful product... The Dark Cherry...has turned my hair PURPLE!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccSeptember 1, 2015
Let us help! Please give us a call @ 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM. Please give ref # 446781
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not correct results for shade

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I used this on 8/20 on my very light blonde hair with dark ash roots and my result was nowhere near what i thought dark beige blonde was supposed to be or what the pic depicted. My results werent carmelly like the other reviewers, my hair is now a purple-grey-green mess! It looks like a bad halloween grandma wig and i am so embarassed! I had to keep my hair up at work because i am so self conscience about it. I am going to have to bleach my hair now to remove the dye and i am very unhappy with how this turned out!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what i hoped for

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I recently purchased this product because I regularly use the shampoo and condition as well as leave in conditioner, even hair spray. Almost 9 moths ago I had highlights put in my naturally dark hair and they had grown out, time to get rid of them. Well, not only did the hair dye not cover all of the highlights, but it left my hair feeling like straw. My hair feels drier and almost rough compared to before using this product, when I though it was suppose to nourish my hair and make it "silky soft". Not the case at all.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccJune 26, 2015
Hi, So sorry this happened. We want to help. Can you call us at 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9A-7P ET and give ref# 278870? Looking forward to speaking to you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brunette to blonde

PostedJune 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have medium brown hair and wanted to dye the underside blonde, I chose garner because I normally go auburn and it works really well. I put it on and left if for 33 minutes to be safe, my hair is literally the same shade as it was before. There was no change what so ever, I am so irritated I wasted the money and will probably not use garner again.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
-10points
0of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
The only part of my hair that seemed to pick up color was my roots, and they look coppery! Completely waste of money. My hair is a light golden brown and I wanted it to be a few shades lighter.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer AffairsMay 7, 2015
So sorry this happened. We want to help. Can you call us directly at 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9A-7P ET and give ref# 154632?
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Upset!!!!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I've been dying my hair with Garnier, and I am very upset because I just used True Red and it did nothing to my roots. I will be calling corporate tomorrow to complain.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for me!!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
So I thought after seeing the commercials on TV that it looked like a fabulous product...well I have been coloring my hair for 4 years using Nice & Easy 121A (I have black hair and wanted to tame the silver sparkles) and I have had great luck with this product but thought because it has no ammonia this may be a welcome change. It did not work. Not even a smidge. I followed the instructions closely and left it on a bit longer because I already dye my hair. It is more expensive than Nice & Easy and no where near the same results. I was so disappointed:((
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Got RED when I wanted BROWN

PostedNovember 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have naturally dark dark brown hair. I previously had subtle highlights which really grew out bad. I decided to just get rid of them overall. I bought this thinking it would just go over the highlights and not change my natural color too much because its darker than the box. But was I wrong! Yes, it took care of my highlights... by turning them red! And not only that, the roots turned red too, everything R-E-D. Its a pretty color, but I happen to hate red... Pretty confused because I've actually done this before. Not sure if I got the wrong color or what. I like this brand overall, so Im just going to try a darker color and see what happens. I would not recommend this color at all if you are looking for something brown.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst hair color EVER!

PostedOctober 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Dark
I bought two bottles of the burgundy #62 for darker hair. My hair is dark brown and I was expecting at least a little tint. I wear extensions in my hair and the color was able to lift on my extensions (very little). The color did not take in my natural hair at all! I literally have streaks of burgundy color in my hair! I would think that for hair that actually has follicles, it would lift more than the hair without! I am completely unsatisfied with the result of this product, and now I have to wait about a week before I can change it. I will never use this hair color again! great hair care products, horrible color!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Discontinue this line

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Customer avatar
I dread waiting to safely recolor. It not only neglected to cover gray roots but highlighted them, due to overall damaged appearance; detangling is like pulling loofah thru molasses -- garbage & waste of money.
I bought it accidently & worried because the hairspray from this line is awful as well
No, I do not recommend this product.
-11points
0of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Prior to using this product earlier this evening, I had (and now still have) light brown hair. Post use I have the added bonus of very blonde roots, and nothing else.
I followed the directions verbatim- applied to the darkest regions first and ended with my roots ten minutes before the processing time was over, just to be sure not to over-process, for all the good that did me. I saturated all of my hair very carefully and processed for 30 minutes because my hair is coarse.
But lo and behold, I showered and could already tell it hadn't actually changed my hair color by much, but blow dried to find that it wasn't any lighter. Except for the roots of course, which are now completely identical to the shade on the box.
It's not a good look.
I regret buying this product and will now have to purchase another, different brand of dye to repair my hair. Very dissatisfied. I've usually had great results using garnier's hair color products, but after this would hesitate to buy anything from them again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-5points
4of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Extremely disappointed

PostedAugust 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
I will never use this again. In the 17 years I have been dying my hair a product has never changed my hair texture like this. My hair was soft and damage free and now it's greasy and full of build up after dying it with this product. No matter how many times I wash it, it still feels gross. I've tried 3 shampoos and nothing helps. The only thing I can do at this point is try dying it with another product and hope my hair goes back to normal!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Terrible

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I am always pleased with Garnier they are my favorite and only hair product I have EVER used. This color is so untoned at places. It gave me such a vibrant bright color at the top like the color on the box but had faded into a brownish color at the middle to bottom. I am so unpleased with this. I am hoping you guys could tell me how to fix this. i followed every instruction on the box as I always do. Ever other hair color I have used with this product I had no problem with.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not even close to the color on the box!

PostedApril 4, 2014
Customer avatar
from Hesperia, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I've been coloring my hair since I was 12, so i've done this a few times. I usually dye my hair red and I was looking for a brighter red. This one looked exactly like what I wanted. Followed the directions & set my timer. After rinsing it out and drying it I was less then excited about the end result. You could barely see the RED at all. It was so dark, almost brown. I can see the red when i'm out in the sun, but that's about it. Defiantly didn't end up w/the results I wanted. Now i'm stuck waiting for this dark color to fade so I can dye it back to the red I wanted. Very disappointed!!
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
-10points
13of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NO gray coverage

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I color my hair to cover the gray and this product did nothing. The color was fine but not covering the gray was a total disappointment.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
7of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>