Customer reviews for LOREAL Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy

LOREAL Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy

Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating:
4.128 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(389 reviews) 389
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 389 reviews
5 Stars
256
4 Stars
49
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
14
1 Star
54
319 out of 389(82%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Review 1 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Definitely not a burgundy color

PostedJuly 9, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
This was my first and last time trying this brand hair color. I followed the directions exactly and the color came out more like a blackish deep purple color. I am very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccJuly 15, 2016
We are sorry to hear this and would love to help! We know how disappointing it can be to look forward to a new application of color only to find that your results are not what you expected. There could be many reasons why your color results are different from what you had hoped. Please call us @ 888.448.9617 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST and give the reference number 1277995. We look forward to making this right!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy

PostedJune 6, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I purchased this product due to it said 100% gray coverage. It barely colored my hair and did not color my grays at all. Not happy with the product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy CCCConsumer Care CenterJune 16, 2016
We are sorry that you did not get the gray coverage that you expected. We'd like to help. Call us at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-5:30 EST Give the rep reference #1188076
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Purple Hair

PostedMay 31, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I colored my hair and the product did not color all of my hair and it looked more purple than burgundy. It also turned my gray hair pink. This is the first time I have used this color. The other colors work very well.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy CCCJune 7, 2016
We're sorry for your recent experience with our haircolor. We'd like to help you. Please give us a call at 800-442-7643 M-F 9am-7pm ET and give the rep answering reference #1173471. We look forward to hearing from you.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Purple nightmare

PostedApril 5, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Skin tone:Light
I don't color my hair often, but when I did, I always used Garnier. The box for this color looks like one that I've used in the past. From what I could tell it was one shade darker than what I had used years ago and loved. I wanted to go slightly darker this time around, so I bought this one. My hair was pretty light when I used this, so I was expecting my hair to be similar to that image on the box. I understand that all results are different, but I was still hoping for a dark redish brown. (The definition of Burgundy is "a deep red color, like that of burgundy wine.") What I wound up with was something so dark it was almost black, with purple that would glow under the right lights. It didn't even hold to all of my hair, so I was left with a bad blotchy mess of black, purple, and light redish brown hair on my head. I couldn't go to work like this and so ended up paying for a salon to correct this. Of course, since it turned my light hair almost black, this meant a lightener to strip the color out. Not cheap. I had been so happy with previous colors, but this one has changed my mind about coloring all together. I think I'd rather give in to my natural brown hair with the grays coming in than take the risk of having to go through this again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCApril 12, 2016
We are sorry to hear about your color result. Please give us a call so we can help. 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST Give the rep reference #1013979
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

The Worst

PostedMarch 31, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have used other hair colors without a problem before. But I do not recommend #70 Dark Natural Blonde. I used it and it left my hair looking exactly the same. The same shade of medium/light brown. Very disappointed. The only positive is that it didn't dry out my hair as much as other products but that could be because it didn't work at all.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCApril 6, 2016
We are sorry that you did not get the color result that you expected. Since your hair was already color treated, the Nutrisse would not be able to properly go through the lightening process before depositing which is why you would not get a change in color. Color does not have the ability to lighten another color, only natural color. Hope this helps.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Refund to my e mail

PostedMarch 30, 2016
Customer avatar
from usa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I need a refund. Terrible results. I know what I am doing too. Followed directions and it did not even change the color of my hair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCApril 6, 2016
Sorry to hear about your disappointing experience. Give us a call at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST Give the Rep ref #995781
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst hair color ever

PostedMarch 6, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This is the second Garnier hair color I've used. First was the Olia line with horrible results. I then tried the Garnier Nutrisse hair color in 30 Darkest Brown. My natural hair color is dark brown. I've been coloring my hair to cover gray hair for over 10 years using all different brands. The Garnier line does a terrible job covering gray hair. I read and followed the directions as I always do before I color my hair. Left color on for the proper amount of time. After rinsing the color out of my hair and used the conditioner that came in box, I looked at my hair. The hair color did not completely cover my gray hair, not just the gray hair at my hair line, but also the ones scattered throughout my hair. I have never had a brand of hair color perform so porely. Extremely disappointed and was a waste of time and money.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccMarch 9, 2016
We are sorry to hear this and would love to assist you! Please give us a call @ 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref 3 926769
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very let down

PostedFebruary 7, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I had medium brown hair, then I used this product, now I still have medium brown hair. I left it in for the 35 minute max, did everything by the book. Very underwhelmed, very disappointed, very sad.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccFebruary 9, 2016
We are sorry to hear this and would like to assist you! Please give us a call @ 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM EST and give ref # 844646. We look forward to making this right!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

HATE IT!!!!!

PostedJanuary 3, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I cannot believe that my hair is red!? I thought I was going to have more brown tones. There is nothing brown about this product. I haven't been a red head since high school. And my hair is more mahogany then I would ever prefer. This isnt BROWN?!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCJanuary 13, 2016
We are sorry to hear that you are disappointed in your color result. There are many reasons why hair color can turn out differently than expected. We'd like to help. Please give us a call at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST. Give the rep reference number 774134
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Never Again

PostedDecember 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I used this product to dye over my medium blonde hair since my original red was fading really fast and I was very excited for some more bright red. I couldn't have been more wrong about how this color would come out. Not only did the color not stick to any of my blonde but the little bit of red that was left in my hair around my roots has been turned a disgusting dark mahogany color and all of my hair has been left with a gross brown tint. This dye turned me into a dingy brunette, which I'm a brunette naturally so if I wanted brown hair I wouldn't have been dying it for the last 10 years. And if the fact that my hair color is completely destroyed, less than 24 hours before the Christmas party I'm supposed to have bright red hair for, isn't enough my hair health is also completely down the tubes. Nourishing oils is a total lie. My hair wasn't the healthiest but I also do conditioning treatments directly after dying my hair which leaves it very soft and even that wasn't enough to help me not be totally fried. I'm trying to grow my hair out and I now need to cut off a good 2 or 3 inches of chemical disaster. I have done a lot to my hair over the years, I have been every color under the sun and even bleached multiple times in one day, I have been a careless unknowledgeable young teen with no regard to hydration and chemicals and I still have never once experienced a situation this terrible with my hair. I never thought id actually cry after a dye job or ever be upset enough to actually take time to write a review but here I am. I was forced to give this one star.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccJanuary 6, 2016
Hi! We are so sorry you were not satisfied with your haircolor results. We would love to help. Can you call us directly at 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9A-7P ET and give ref# 746550? Looking forward to hearing from you!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Too dark, not what is advertised

PostedSeptember 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I've used several shades of the Garnier Nutrisse line and they've worked out great in the past but I had a horrible experience with this particular shade. I started with a (dyed) medium auburn shade. My roots were showing (about a 1/2") so I wanted to return back to something closer to my natural hair color and chose to give this shade a try--it looks awesome on the box. After 25 minutes what was suppose to end up a "Light Natural Brown" came out nearly black. What's worse is I still have the original red showing throughout in blotches! I have short fine hair, so I had plenty of product for coverage; I mixed the entire amount and applied it evenly from root to tip but the new color did not provide full coverage at all. I have 10+ years experience coloring my own hair and have never had results like these. I'm very disappointed with this product and would not use it again nor recommend it to anyone. I hope correcting it will not cause too much damage to my fine hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccSeptember 9, 2015
Let us help! Please give us a call @ 1.800 442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Please give ref # 457903
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not sure I'd recommend or not

PostedSeptember 3, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have been coloring my hair with Garnier for a long time. I bought a True Red number 66 over the weekend, the same color I always get, this time nothing. It has been a while since I colored my hair too. You can't tell I colored my hair at all. Very disappointed.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Do you have thick asain hair?

PostedSeptember 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
Then dont even bother buying this. I checked the color at the 30 minute mark, barely any lightening had happened. Then I checked again at the 40 minute mark and barely any change. I decided not to push it and rinse it out, my hair is a touch lighter to a deep redish orange instead of the brown I had before.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccSeptember 4, 2015
We are sorry to hear this! Let us help! Please give us a call 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Please give ref # 453512
-17points
4of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Purple Hair...

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have currently used the product above, and I always use Garnier. It is a wonderful product... The Dark Cherry...has turned my hair PURPLE!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccSeptember 1, 2015
Let us help! Please give us a call @ 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM. Please give ref # 446781
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not correct results for shade

PostedAugust 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I used this on 8/20 on my very light blonde hair with dark ash roots and my result was nowhere near what i thought dark beige blonde was supposed to be or what the pic depicted. My results werent carmelly like the other reviewers, my hair is now a purple-grey-green mess! It looks like a bad halloween grandma wig and i am so embarassed! I had to keep my hair up at work because i am so self conscience about it. I am going to have to bleach my hair now to remove the dye and i am very unhappy with how this turned out!
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not what i hoped for

PostedJune 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I recently purchased this product because I regularly use the shampoo and condition as well as leave in conditioner, even hair spray. Almost 9 moths ago I had highlights put in my naturally dark hair and they had grown out, time to get rid of them. Well, not only did the hair dye not cover all of the highlights, but it left my hair feeling like straw. My hair feels drier and almost rough compared to before using this product, when I though it was suppose to nourish my hair and make it "silky soft". Not the case at all.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccJune 26, 2015
Hi, So sorry this happened. We want to help. Can you call us at 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9A-7P ET and give ref# 278870? Looking forward to speaking to you.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Brunette to blonde

PostedJune 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have medium brown hair and wanted to dye the underside blonde, I chose garner because I normally go auburn and it works really well. I put it on and left if for 33 minutes to be safe, my hair is literally the same shade as it was before. There was no change what so ever, I am so irritated I wasted the money and will probably not use garner again.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
-15points
1of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Didn't work

PostedMay 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
The only part of my hair that seemed to pick up color was my roots, and they look coppery! Completely waste of money. My hair is a light golden brown and I wanted it to be a few shades lighter.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer AffairsMay 7, 2015
So sorry this happened. We want to help. Can you call us directly at 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9A-7P ET and give ref# 154632?
-2points
2of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very Upset!!!!

PostedApril 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I've been dying my hair with Garnier, and I am very upset because I just used True Red and it did nothing to my roots. I will be calling corporate tomorrow to complain.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Nourishing Color Creme 42 - Deep Burgundy
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did not work for me!!

PostedNovember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
So I thought after seeing the commercials on TV that it looked like a fabulous product...well I have been coloring my hair for 4 years using Nice & Easy 121A (I have black hair and wanted to tame the silver sparkles) and I have had great luck with this product but thought because it has no ammonia this may be a welcome change. It did not work. Not even a smidge. I followed the instructions closely and left it on a bit longer because I already dye my hair. It is more expensive than Nice & Easy and no where near the same results. I was so disappointed:((
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 20 next>>