Customer reviews for Garnier Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown

Garnier Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown

Cool Brown
Overall rating:
3.743 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(187 reviews) 187
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 187 reviews
5 Stars
96
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
16
2 Stars
13
1 Star
34
131 out of 187(70%)reviewers recommend
Customer reviews for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Review 1 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very disappointed

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Virgnia
from Newport News, Va
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I have never used garner hair dye before but I loved this color so I thought I would give it a try and I am very disappointed but not with the color. I have rinsed my hair out four times in the past two days and color is still coming out. It has stained four towels now, a pillow case, and a shirt. I have never had this problem when I used L'Oreal products and I would not recommend this product to any of my family or friends.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT color, true to pic on box

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
addash
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
before using the bronze/black dye i spent several days reading the reviews all over the web(and laughing ALOT, I've had bad dye results in the past too). I saw many bad reviews then i noticed some sites have the reviews combined for all the colors, so a lot of the bad reviews were NOT for the bronze/black. I decided to dye and just be prepared for whatever the end result may be. The color is really nice. It may be a bit dark for my age but its a great color. My hair is naturally dark and my result was exactly like the color on the box. Of course , i don't look like the model on the box but the color is correct. Also, it left my hair super soft and the smell wasn't any worse than other dyes. I would absolutely recommend the bronze/black
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This color stays in forever!!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Katie62
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I love this hair color! It does not fade out like other red dyes do. Of course the intensity is going to slip a bit, but I have found that this takes months to happen. My hair color on the days before and after a fresh dye is almost identical. This color looks amazing, but is fantastic in the sunlight.
Note: I only have the bottom layers of my hair dyed with this color. I left my very top layer my natural brown. I am not sure if/how this affects lasting capability of the dye
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color, highlights and product

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
JaiNY1
from Warwick, NY 10990, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have used this product twice and I'm smitten with the color. It doesn't stand out and make you look like you have burgundy hair at all. Yr hair looks like a nice dark brown with red highlights. But in the some, it's amazing, it's like getting two colors in one. The color is quite sublime. I love it and it is very hard to find. I've tried several drug stores and they are always hard to stock it. Highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LIGHT BROWN?!?!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
ThisIsRediculous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I just dyed my hair using this dye. I naturally have light brown hair AND THIS COLOR CAME OUT A SHADE DARKER BROWN THAN MY NATURAL HAIR COLOR!!! IT CAM EOUT LIGHT BROWN?! NOT EVEN JUST LIGHT BROWN BUT BLOTCHY LIGHT BROWN WITH DIFFERENT UNDERTONES. Uhg. Money WASTED! Don't bother with this.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

lightens slightly

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
irishmexgirl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have naturally black/dark brown hair and dye to mostly cover grays. This did not at all lighten my hair as represented on the box, however, it did provide some nice brown lightening and my hair is very soft. I believe I could get similar results with another color and not this specific version.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely in love

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
KaylaF
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I hadn't dyed my hair in 6+ years, and decided it was time for a change. Always dreamed of having red hair, but never could get dye to stay - my hair's nearly black naturally. I thought I'd give Nutrisse Ultra R2 a try, because really, the worst it could do was not work, right?
Well, as it turns out this product is a miracle. Seriously, I've never been this happy with my hair before. Even when red dye DID tinge my hair before, it always faded so fast it was basically gone before it was even time to do a root touch up. With the R2, it's stuck around at almost the exact same intensity level for a month so far.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Vibrant Color

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Zeggers
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have medium brown natural hair color. And I wanted a bright red color. So I went with the ultra-color to get a brighter, more saturated result. And that's what I got! If you have light to medium hair, and you want a bright, vibrant red, the ultra color is great for that.
The super vibrancy does fade after a few washes. But you're still left with a saturated red for a couple of months.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This IS my color!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
ShawnaL579
from Sauget, IL, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Split Ends
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have naturally dark brown hair and was wanting to do something new instead of the blonde streak I had in it for many years, so I decided to go red! I wanted to be sure the red really came out so I bleached my entire head a lighter brown color first to use a different brand of hair color which is no longer sold. I thought once they stopped selling that other brand that I'd never find a color to match what I now had to keep covering grays and grow-out but this color worked perfectly! I am constantly getting compliments on my hair color and even with a months grow out it still looks just as "intense auburn" as it did the day I colored it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Brassytown

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Lulu008
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It left my hair very soft, but the color is not what was on the box, neither was it something I am happy with. My hair is all brassy now and I have to find some way to fix it. I had some previously dyed hair on the end (an ash brown) and about 3 inches of my naturally black hair at the roots. The brassiness was worst at the roots.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

This product did not do what the box said....

PostedJanuary 28, 2014
Customer avatar
essentialkeys
from Buford, GA, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Split Ends
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have medium brown hair and the only thing red is my hands and the couple of grey hairs I had. It says it was made for darker hair and even if I had black hair the color on the box isn't the color I got. I think they should not advertise a product that doesn't keep it's promises.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worked on my dark hair

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Yoyce
from Los Angeles, CA, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I've colored my hair several times. I am a natural dark brunette and wanted to try something new. I used Nutrisse Ultra Color R2. I was so surprised how even the color came out and how vibrant it was. I have used other products since and nothing worked as well Nutrisse Ultra Color. Also came with great conditioner and the whole process was very easy to do alone.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Nutrisse Ultra Color BR1 Deepest Intensity AWESOME

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Joshica
from Indiana, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Dark
Usually when you color your hair you can feel the damaging, drying effects almost immediately. However, I used this product to cover grey hairs, and to give a little light to my intensely dark hair, and instantly knew this was something different. As an African-American woman with natural hair I was extremely worried about the product changing my curl pattern, it did not!
I would love this same color boosted to be a lighter burgundy, but what do you expect having very dark hair, hard to boost w/o boosters. The greys lightened beautifully making wonderful highlights. Soft, manageable tresses, well conditioned, hydrated. I don't think I'll dye with any other product!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, vibrant color without damage

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Emily27
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
This is a great product. I'll keep this short and sweet.
I have medium-dark brown hair. I wanted a vibrant cherry red and after reading reviews I decided to go with this one and crossed my fingers. I've attached a photo of the result... It was very sunny when I took the photo so you will see how the tones reflect in the natural light. When indoors, the color comes off much deeper like a black-cherry color.
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
WARNING: many reviewers stated that this turned their hair "clown red". Please note: I would not recommend this color for light hair. This color is great for dark-haired girls who would like to go RED.
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love it

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Customer avatar
Syl56
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have had this color for a good three years now. I LOVE IT. I have gotten soooo many compliments with it. And I have used professional dyes before, however, the problem with them is that managing the red is hard work. This dye allows you to have a long lasting red without HAVING to shower in cold water or use special red dye shampoo. However, what most people think is that anyone could just have red hair. Red is a daring color, it is not one that looks great on everyone, so keep that into consideration when choosing to dye it this color
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More compliments than you can imagine!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Noah
from Florida
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I noticed this color in Target one day and decided to try it. I've been using it for almost two years and I've been complimented on the color more times than I can count. I'm a guy with naturally ashy brown hair that almost has a gray tint, and this color saturates and adds vibrancy to my hair so well that I love it. Not only that, it lasts for almost 2 months, including a haircut. It results in very vibrant ginger-hued auburn color that looks great in comparison to my original color. I'm not sure how well it would look on someone with other natural color, but I know it works superb for me. It also leaves my hair softer than it naturally is, miraculously. Recommend this to everyone looking for super-vibrant color!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Perfect!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Aelonwyne
from Utah
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This shade is exactly what I want. I have been using it for at least two years now, on my normally brown hair. It is very intense, and depending on the lighting sometimes it has a purple hue to it, but I love it. I also get compliments regularly from strangers that they love the color. I personally really love it, but for some people it may not be a good choice for them. When choosing hair color consider your natural hair color, and also your skin tone. The color may not look good on some people depending on skin tone, and how your actual color takes to the dye.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Pretty color, but different from the box

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Blairlh
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I've had highlighted hair for about 6 months but wanted to go dark again. I grabbed this because I had heard getting a color with just a little bit of red is important when dying over highlights; apparently some colors can turn your hair green, which I obviously didn't want to deal with. I like the way it turned out but when the light hits it, it's REALLY red. It's possible that's because I had such light hair before, but be prepared for some pretty serious red if you use this one.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Amazing Color

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Customer avatar
yobrittbritt
from Pittsburgh, PA, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I've been dyeing my hair this color for the past year, and I absolutely LOVE IT. It's such a beautiful color. Although I do notice my color fades very quickly.. Other than that this is by far my favorite boxed hair dye. My hair is always left soft and silky, I couldn't be happier!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
9of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Nutrisse Ultra Color B1 Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT BROWN ---- PURPLE RED BEWARE!

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Customer avatar
shouldastayedclarol
Gender:Female
Age:35-44
This was put on brown hair. Give it a LITTLE change & darker. Hair turned out PURPLE, burgundy red what ever ..........no brown or black 100% red/ auburn. Box VERY misleading
No, I do not recommend this product.
-10points
6of 22voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>