Customer reviews for LOREAL Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)

LOREAL Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)

Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating:
3.699 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(216 reviews) 216
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 216 reviews
5 Stars
110
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
42
148 out of 216(69%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Review 1 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT Recommended for black hair..

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Divya
Age:25-34
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have black hair and used this product as it says its suitable for black hair. But my experience turned out to be very disappointing. It just turned by roots (hair near the scalp) brassy brown and rest of the hair remained black. So the result looks so bad, because only my root area is brassy brown and entire hair is still black. In such a bad situation right now. Cant get it fixed right away too, as its not good for the hair to color it repeatedly. Will have to wait some time to fix this mess. Feel like crying every time I see my hair. I don't believe this product is meant for black hair, as it shows on cover. PLEASE DON'T USE THIS COLOR IF U HAVE BLACK HAIR.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy CCCJuly 29, 2015
We are sorry you did not get the color result that you expected. We'd like to help. Give us a call at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST Give the rep reference number 345346
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lovely Color but....

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer avatar
AmyC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I loved the color. It was amazing and super easy to apply. One trip to the swimming pool (6 days after coloring) and the ends of my hair are now brown instead of black! This product is great and smells good but it comes out super easy. It acts like a semi-permanent instead of permanent color. Never used Garnier before and probably won't again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ugh!

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer avatar
BrunetteBeauty
Age:25-34
I have naturally dark brown hair. Thought this would be a nice change. Wrong! Roots are brassy and color barely came through on the ends.
I need to fix this mess on my head and I don't know where to start.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a good idea to lighten dyed dark hair

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
raejohn
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I didnt realize when i bought this that it was only intended for those with naturally dark hair. But i had the color mixed already and decided to give it a shot. I have medium brown hair naturally and the last time I dyed it, came out a very dark brown / black color. So had bought this to try and lighten it up a bit. What happened was the very dark dyed part of my hair stayed the same while my roots were lightened significantly. not sure what to do next but i wouldnt recommend this one for someone who is trying to lighten their dyed dark hair (as the box states)
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hair lightening color I can find!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Customer avatar
mimichique15
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have yet to find anything that lightens my dark black hair better than this product. It does not pull any orange or coppery tones. It lightens my hair to nice golden brown color giving it a natural look with some highlights. It does not damage my hair like using a bleaching agent would do. It keeps my hair soft and mostly undamaged. I have been using this hair color for about 10 years and am 24 years old now!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Total Waste of Money!

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Dianalaymon
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have used this brand of hair color for over 15 years, I wanted to lighten up my dark brown hair for the summer, and decided to use their product that claims to change black hair 3 shades lighter. Since I have brown hair you would expect that I would get a light brown coloring...... Not the case, it didn't lighten my hair at all just brought the gray out more than when I started. Total waste of money and will be going to another brand to fix......
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What went wrong?

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
hanengles
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
Dissapointed. The first time i used this color it worked perfectly! But after this first use when i tried to redye it, certain spots wouldnt dye like the rest mostly my entire right side of hair. I'm relatively new to hair dying but my experience friend did it for me the first time and all the other times. For some reason it'll only dye my roots and certain areas of my hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy CCCMay 6, 2015
Sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. Give us a call so we can explain why you you got the result that you did. 800.442.7643 Monday-Friday 9-7 EST
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Showed up very vibrant on my virgin hair!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer avatar
LifeBeFly
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have never dyed my hair before, and I've always wanted to do it red. I'm scared of bleach, I'm seriously never considering it. So I researched, and this had the best results I could find and oh my god, this is amazing! It's very vibrant, but not to the point where it's crazy like fire engine red. It lasts a long time, about a month to a month and a half. Application and mixing was super easy, and my hair just looks so healthy and shiny.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this! Used twice & not disappointed!

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
SkinnyDee
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
For context - I have naturally dark brown hair, pale skin & hazel eyes.
Over the holidays I wanted to update my hair color - it had grown out blonde highlights over dark brown hair. My roots were bad! So I went to a new stylist to save time & money and asked for an all over dark chestnut color. It turned out horrible! It was this really dull soul sucking black. With my pale complexion I looked like the goth I was in high school (20 years ago!!!!) I am now an executive in a professional career so this was not a good look! I waited a week to see if the color would lighten. Nope. I still had one week left off on my holiday vacation and I took a risk to use this on top of the black to see if it lightened it. IT DID! I was very pleased - no, the black was not totally gone but this gave my hair a nice all over brown, with a rich shine & it left my hair so SOFT. I went out for New Years Eve & got lots of compliments on my all over color - no one said it was too dark. I went back to work after my vacation & the same. Nothing but compliments! I waited another four weeks (when my roots returned) and used this again to see if I could finally be rid of any remaining black - yes, again it worked. My hair is now the rich brown I had sought 8 weeks prior! I will definitely stick to this brand and color. Even it continues to lighten my hair I'm ok with it - that might be nice as I head into the spring/summer. Thanks Garnier for saving my sad dull hair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Color BL26

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Tsweet
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I really really love this color. The only problem is that it is hard to find at my local retailers. I haven't ever even come across a color that is close to this in another brand. I wish it were more accessable but now maybe I will be online from now on. Please do not ever discontinue this color!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

auburn

PostedJanuary 25, 2015
Customer avatar
ojitoslemus12
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
First time using and I absolutely love it. The color is bright and lasts long. The only downside is the applicator, its a bit hard to get use to but definitely worth it. I do recommend and will continue to use! :)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!!! perfect fall color change

PostedOctober 10, 2014
Customer avatar
janells
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have natural black hair and this added the deepest red highlights that I was looking for. Very subtle you can see it in the light. I will use this again. I had lightened my hair using sun in in the summer months so I was afraid the lighter ends would turn bright red but they didn't it died my hair back to my natural black with the red highlights. Very satisfied :-)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great lift!

PostedOctober 2, 2014
Customer avatar
jessiker
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
The color looks great and true to the box. I love the way it lifted my darker hair! My only complaint is that it takes forever to wash out and stains towels and white shirts, when wet.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The best red ever! <3 Love this!

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
KariKBrandt
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Split Ends
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I've been using this for years and still get compliments! It's bright, resists fading, covers grays well and is superior to every other brand of red color I've used. The only cons are that the water in the shower will never run clear after the initial coloring and every subsequent shampoo for a month. Also, light colored towels and pillowcases could show color stains even weeks later but I found that to be a great excuse to switch to pink towels! :) I love this product and recommend it frequently! I highly recommend using shampoo and conditioner for color treated hair and deep conditioning every week or two to prolong the life of your color. Using dry shampoo in place of washes also helps. Go bright red and you'll never want to go back!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

It's RED, not black!

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Customer avatar
ChiGirl
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
As I'm sitting here writing this I'm coloring my hair a 2nd time (with a different manufacturer's hair color product), to fix the big mistake I made using Nutrisse Reflective Auburn Black. THERE IS NO BLACK OR BROWN PIGMENT IN THIS COLOR! It is bright, candy-apple red. I have some gray at my roots, which turned bright red, the rest of my black hair stayed black with some red highlights. Awful, just awful. The color bleed is also ridiculous. Even after washing and conditioning 3 times there was still bright orange water running down my face from my hair. Quite obviously, I'm very unhappy about this huge waste of time, which could have been avoided had this color been packaged as a RED, because there is nothing black or brown about it.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Something wrong with formula

PostedAugust 28, 2014
Customer avatar
Melllymagne
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
Ive been using garnier hair dye for a long time, and there is something seriously wrong with the new ultra formulas. The dye runs for days, instead of rinsing out completely in the first wash. And it stains everything- even my comb! My shower shouldnt still look like a crime scene on the third day of washing. The attached photo is what a sink of water I rinsed my hair looked like on the third day. And all of my pillow cases and towels are stained.
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
21of 37voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love this!!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Customer avatar
schroedertina21
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Split Ends
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I love this. Naturally I have medium brown hair. This hair dye makes my hair reddish brown. Honestly I could not be happier.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My hair is still black.

PostedAugust 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Catgirly
Age:18-24
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I was really excited to try this because my hair is naturally black and I thought finally something so that dark hair can have fun colors. No my hair is still black. I followed the instructions to the T. I'm really disappointed I was hoping to have at lease a tiny bit of red, I got Nothing. So now I've exposed my hair to chemicals for no reason at all because my hair is still black but I'll probably have horrible split ends.
I marked my hair as color treated because it IS NOW although you would never know, since it's still black.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
3of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I love it!!! RED HEAD

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Customer avatar
ShelsyP
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I really love this product I was scared to use it at first because I'm really tan but also because my natural hair color is black but then I dyed it brown it came out phenomenal! I aprove!
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
20of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Sibella
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
ULTRA COLOR R2 - MEDIUM INTENSE AUBURN - This is an extraordinary hair color. There is an element of elegance & beauty
to it with a modern twist... The color holds very well and it stays soft... I recommend this product highly.. Thank you Garnier for the beautiful color..
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>