Customer reviews for LOREAL Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)

LOREAL Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)

Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating:
3.746 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(197 reviews) 197
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 197 reviews
5 Stars
101
4 Stars
29
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
14
1 Star
35
138 out of 197(70%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Review 1 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PostedJuly 18, 2014
Customer avatar
Sibella
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
ULTRA COLOR R2 - MEDIUM INTENSE AUBURN - This is an extraordinary hair color. There is an element of elegance & beauty
to it with a modern twist... The color holds very well and it stays soft... I recommend this product highly.. Thank you Garnier for the beautiful color..
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the color

PostedJune 16, 2014
Customer avatar
salloway81
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I loved the color on the box however it wasn't even close on my hair.It turned my roots a redder color more than the rest of my hair.I always purchase Garnier hair color.I usually color mine a soft black or dark brown,but wanted to try something different. I think next time I'll try a lighter red on the rest of my hair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Completely Satisfied Customer

PostedJune 5, 2014
Customer avatar
MeeKayTee
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I love, love, love, the way that this color takes to my hair. It does not have an over powering smell to it. I have never received so many compliments like I do with this color. It totally covers my gray. The color lasts a long time but I touch up because my roots. I wash my hair every other day and use shampoo for color treated hair, which may be why after several washes there may be color on the towel which is ok with me. It is such a beautiful color indoors and outdoors... just a lot brighter in the sunlight.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Waste of time and money!

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
2totmom
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I thought this color looked beautiful on the box BUT it didn't change the color of my hair! It changed my roots but even that wasn't even close to the color on the box! Don't waste your time or money!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT

PostedMay 10, 2014
Customer avatar
mightyclaw
from Helena, MT, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
My hair is dark brown naturally and I had been dying it chocolate brown from another company. I have lots of gray underneath but my hair is still dark brown on top. So I picked up this color and gave it a try. My dark brown is blackish, but it was really dark anyway. The gray is an awesome red. People compliment me all the time. So now I have hair that looks like it is custom dyed with black and red. I was in a panic because I haven't been able to find it for a couple of weeks in my town, but I found 3 stores on the website and I might just start buying them out and stocking up because I would be upset if this color was discontinued. Today I put on a different color because of the difficulty in finding it, but it is going back to auburn black in a few days after a rest so my hair doesn't turn a really weird color.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Not good for retouch on gray hair

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
misscdp
from Bridgeport, CT, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
Im really dissatisfied...now my hair look with lighter tone on the retouch...is good to light your hair! not for retouch I would like my money back I bought two at Walgreens.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Forever rinsing

PostedMay 4, 2014
Customer avatar
GVfabulous
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Me and my husband love the color, it is great for me, however, you have to watch out for this Nutrisse Nourishing Color Crème R2 Medium Intense Auburn I find it takes 4-5 different good rinses to come out and water to run clear. It gets on towels & clothes if your hair is wet.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Red Results

PostedMay 3, 2014
Customer avatar
Cinderoonie
from San Antonio, TX, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I've tried various shades of reds with little success. Additionally, the red tint washes out after the 3rd or 4th wash. This one lasts for a long time, and while it's not as red as I'd want (I'd probably have to bleach it beforehand) it's still a headturner - in a good way! It especially shines brilliantly in the sunlight, where I get most of my compliments. I also notice the color is more noticeable when I straighten my hair. I will never dye my hair blue-black again, I'm sticking with this shade of red for as long as they make it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I get compliments all the time using R1

PostedApril 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Karoline12345
from Washington, DC, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I absolutely love the Garnier Nutrisse Ultra Color Dark Intense Auburn (R1) hair color. I get compliments on my hair color every where I go, from young children to adults, male and female. I've tried a couple of the other Ultra Colors (medium intense auburn and the dark intense burgundy) and I do not like the color as much as the Dark Intense Auburn. I've had difficultly finding this in stores lately, so I tried the Darkest Intense Auburn and that doesn't even hold a candle to the Dark Intense Auburn (R0). The Darkest Intense Auburn (R0) did not cover my gray well at all, it made those areas look more orange :( The Dark Intense Auburn (R1) does an excellent job covering my gray. I hope I can find this easier in stores soon because it is simply the best hair color for me.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Pretty color but...

PostedApril 23, 2014
Customer avatar
lamason
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have medium brown hair naturally and usually go with a hint of red or auburn. So I decided to get adventurous and go Auburn Black. I got worried when it looked like my head was bleeding, slightly more worried when it started staining my skin (and yes I wiped it off right away). I am not a amateur hair colorist at all have used about every kind of home color. I dont think I have ever had one make such a mess. my head touched the shower stall...stained...sink, stained, scalp, yep stained. That being said its a pretty color, way more red than the box shows. when the sun or light hits it looks like my hair is on fire almost. Havent decided if I would use again....maybe the bronze..
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

very disappointed

PostedApril 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Virgnia
from Newport News, Va
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I have never used garner hair dye before but I loved this color so I thought I would give it a try and I am very disappointed but not with the color. I have rinsed my hair out four times in the past two days and color is still coming out. It has stained four towels now, a pillow case, and a shirt. I have never had this problem when I used L'Oreal products and I would not recommend this product to any of my family or friends.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

GREAT color, true to pic on box

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
addash
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
before using the bronze/black dye i spent several days reading the reviews all over the web(and laughing ALOT, I've had bad dye results in the past too). I saw many bad reviews then i noticed some sites have the reviews combined for all the colors, so a lot of the bad reviews were NOT for the bronze/black. I decided to dye and just be prepared for whatever the end result may be. The color is really nice. It may be a bit dark for my age but its a great color. My hair is naturally dark and my result was exactly like the color on the box. Of course , i don't look like the model on the box but the color is correct. Also, it left my hair super soft and the smell wasn't any worse than other dyes. I would absolutely recommend the bronze/black
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This color stays in forever!!

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Katie62
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I love this hair color! It does not fade out like other red dyes do. Of course the intensity is going to slip a bit, but I have found that this takes months to happen. My hair color on the days before and after a fresh dye is almost identical. This color looks amazing, but is fantastic in the sunlight.
Note: I only have the bottom layers of my hair dyed with this color. I left my very top layer my natural brown. I am not sure if/how this affects lasting capability of the dye
Yes, I recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great color, highlights and product

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Customer avatar
JaiNY1
from Warwick, NY 10990, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have used this product twice and I'm smitten with the color. It doesn't stand out and make you look like you have burgundy hair at all. Yr hair looks like a nice dark brown with red highlights. But in the some, it's amazing, it's like getting two colors in one. The color is quite sublime. I love it and it is very hard to find. I've tried several drug stores and they are always hard to stock it. Highly recommend.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

LIGHT BROWN?!?!

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Customer avatar
ThisIsRediculous
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I just dyed my hair using this dye. I naturally have light brown hair AND THIS COLOR CAME OUT A SHADE DARKER BROWN THAN MY NATURAL HAIR COLOR!!! IT CAM EOUT LIGHT BROWN?! NOT EVEN JUST LIGHT BROWN BUT BLOTCHY LIGHT BROWN WITH DIFFERENT UNDERTONES. Uhg. Money WASTED! Don't bother with this.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-6points
3of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

lightens slightly

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Customer avatar
irishmexgirl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have naturally black/dark brown hair and dye to mostly cover grays. This did not at all lighten my hair as represented on the box, however, it did provide some nice brown lightening and my hair is very soft. I believe I could get similar results with another color and not this specific version.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Absolutely in love

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
KaylaF
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I hadn't dyed my hair in 6+ years, and decided it was time for a change. Always dreamed of having red hair, but never could get dye to stay - my hair's nearly black naturally. I thought I'd give Nutrisse Ultra R2 a try, because really, the worst it could do was not work, right?
Well, as it turns out this product is a miracle. Seriously, I've never been this happy with my hair before. Even when red dye DID tinge my hair before, it always faded so fast it was basically gone before it was even time to do a root touch up. With the R2, it's stuck around at almost the exact same intensity level for a month so far.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great for Vibrant Color

PostedFebruary 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Zeggers
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have medium brown natural hair color. And I wanted a bright red color. So I went with the ultra-color to get a brighter, more saturated result. And that's what I got! If you have light to medium hair, and you want a bright, vibrant red, the ultra color is great for that.
The super vibrancy does fade after a few washes. But you're still left with a saturated red for a couple of months.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

This IS my color!

PostedFebruary 12, 2014
Customer avatar
ShawnaL579
from Sauget, IL, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Split Ends
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have naturally dark brown hair and was wanting to do something new instead of the blonde streak I had in it for many years, so I decided to go red! I wanted to be sure the red really came out so I bleached my entire head a lighter brown color first to use a different brand of hair color which is no longer sold. I thought once they stopped selling that other brand that I'd never find a color to match what I now had to keep covering grays and grow-out but this color worked perfectly! I am constantly getting compliments on my hair color and even with a months grow out it still looks just as "intense auburn" as it did the day I colored it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown (Iced Macchiato)
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Brassytown

PostedDecember 15, 2013
Customer avatar
Lulu008
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It left my hair very soft, but the color is not what was on the box, neither was it something I am happy with. My hair is all brassy now and I have to find some way to fix it. I had some previously dyed hair on the end (an ash brown) and about 3 inches of my naturally black hair at the roots. The brassiness was worst at the roots.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 10 next>>