Customer reviews for LOREAL Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown

LOREAL Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown

Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating:
3.648 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(239 reviews) 239
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 239 reviews
5 Stars
121
4 Stars
32
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
52
161 out of 239(67%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Review 1 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Use another Product

PostedJune 7, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Dark
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I bought this because an ad in a magazine intrigued me. I want to go lighter for summer and thought this might actually work on my hair, since all other brunette dyes would need me to strip my hair. I looked at reviews online, at the time there weren't many. But the ones out there were very mixed. Either you love it or hate it. After more research, the general reason people hate this is because it lightens your roots too much and they don't match the rest of your head. But most of those reviewers admit they didn't follow the instructions.
On to my experience. My hair is virgin black. So per the description, ideal. I watched their YouTube video and followed their Balayage instructions. I mixed everything as instructed, saturated my hair middle-ends first to avoid "hot roots" (where natural/unprocessed hairs roots go lighter because the heat of your head accellerates processing). I left that on for exactly one hour, reapplying product to keep everything saturated. Then I applied where I wanted my "highlights"to be and let that sit for 30mins. All in all, just under 2 hours I had this product on my head. After rinsing, ABDOLUTELY NO DIFFERENCE. My hair is still black (it's not jet black either). After combing and drying, I noticed one pitiful highlight. One. I wasted 2 hours for nothing. I could have used another brand and got better results, I'm sure.
On the plus side, I did see a review where their hair got lighter as the weeks went by. I won't be patient enough to wait for that though. Oh, and the dye smells pretty nice. Not overly chemically, and smells like fruit. Maybe if I blasted my head with a blow dryer it would have worked?? I will be looking into a refund because I wasted money, and more importantly, time that I'll never get back.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCJune 17, 2016
We are sorry about your color result and would like to help. Call us at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-5:30 EST Give the rep reference #1188427
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Skeptical, but pleasantly surprised!

PostedJune 22, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I was very skeptical of this product after reading all the reviews. However, I was pleasantly surprised!
My hair hasn't been dyed in a few months, but I typically use a regular dark brown (same as my natural color) just to cover the grays. I opted for this instead just for a change of pace.
After reading the reviews and watching a few YouTube videos, I decided NOT to follow the box directions to a T. Instead, I chose to apply it to the ends first. I left that on for about 20-25 minutes before doing the roots (since I was pretty sure my ends still had some color on them from the last time I colored it). After applying to the roots, I wrapped my head in plastic wrap to keep my hair close to my scalp. One review said the warmth from your head helps the color to set. Once everything was wrapped, I left it on for another 25 minutes. In total, it was on for 50-55 minutes (when you account for how long it took to apply it to my roots).
The smell wasn't any better or worse than any other dye I've ever used.
When rinsing, it never really rinsed clear. I gave up after a few minutes of it still rinsing orange.
I blow dried it was IN LOVE! In the bright lights of my bathroom, it's pretty auburn-ish/red (as you can see in the photo grid which for some reason uploaded twice), but in dimmer lights it does look more like a deep purple (as you can see in the other photo). I'll be interested to see what shade it takes on in the sunlight tomorrow. My hair does not feel dry or like straw which it sometimes does after coloring it. I wouldn't say it feels extra hydrated or silky, but it's definitely not like straw.
All in all, I am impressed at how well this worked on my dark hair! I absolutely love it and will use it again, following my own directions!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

RED, Red, Red - love it!

PostedJune 22, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I used this product and very much enjoyed the color I achieved. However, no matter how many times I shampoo, there is still bleeding of color which drips down my face and onto my clothing. I live in Las Vegas and the outside temperature is currently 112 degrees, so perspiration happens and my hair embarrasses me greatly whenever I go outside. For that reason, I would not recommend this product. I am wondering how long it will continue to bleed onto my skin and down my face and neck. LOVE the color - HATE the bleed!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccJune 24, 2016

We are sorry to hear this and would love to help! Color coming out the way you describe is very unusual. Permanent hair color should be locked into the hair shaft at the end of the processing time. You might want to lather up the hair with your shampoo and let is soak for 10 minutes. That may loosen up any dye not properly anchored within the hair shaft. Please call us @ 888.448.9617 M-F 9am-5:30pm EST and give the reference number 1233602. We look forward to making this right!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Works with different developer

PostedJune 20, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:Yes
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I love the color of R3, light intense auburn. Based on the negative reviews I read, seeing various results of this hair dye on youtube, and my own research on what to use with hi lift color...I decided to purchase a bottle of 40 volume developer to replace the developer that was in the box kit already. I made the right choice in my case. My virgin hair is a dark brown, and 40 vol is needed to both lift my hair a few shades and to help the hi lift color dye to properly make my hair a nice shade of red.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't use

PostedJune 15, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I'd like to think I'm pretty decent at dying my hair, I've been dying it since the age of twelve, and have had it every color of the rainbow, and every time I've done it a color, I've always gotten compliments on it, etc.
Well, I really messed up when I bought this dye and used it. (I bought 2 boxes of the Ultra Color R3- Light Intense Auburn, and I'll never buy it again. )
It sat on my hair for a pretty long time, and turned this extremely ugly shade of black cherry. As a week went on and doing my normal hair routine, it faded to this very ugly red/brown. ( It was washed literally three times in a span of a week, and it faded so terribly.)
It completely dried out my hair and turned it an ugly shade of red/brown, not the red/ pretty auburn advertised on the box, had to go out and buy two new boxes of black dye to cover this ugly mess.
All in all, I'll never buy this again.
In advance, no, I did no take any pictures of this awful mess, because honestly I was ashamed of how badly it looked color wise, etc.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccJune 24, 2016
We are sorry to hear about your experience with our haircolor. We'd like to help. Give us a call at 888.448.9617 M - F 9am-5:30pm EST. Please provide reference number 1214372
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No coverage what so ever

PostedJune 11, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I wasted my time using this product, my hair doesn't even look like I dyed it.
I am very dissatisfied with this product
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy CCCJune 23, 2016
We're sorry for your experience with our haircolor. There can be many reasons why your results are different from what you expected. Please give our color experts a call at 800-442-7643 M-F 9-7 ET and give rep reference #1198653. We look forward to hearing from you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't buy here's why!!

PostedMay 10, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I've dyed my hair before and I've NEVER experienced such awful things. For one thing the color developer (b) was incredibly hard to squeeze into the applicator bottle (a). Normally you just pour a small bottle in but this was an aluminum type squeeze thing and it took way to long and hurt my hands. Secondly, you need scissors to open the oil when it says you just snap it open. You do not snap it open, you need scissors. This was the messiest dye in the world. I have stains all over my arms and even my legs. It drips so bad. It extremely pungent as well. The worst thing of all was my hair came out splotchy. Let me assure you my whole head was covered in dye. And remind you I've done this before and never had this problem. Splotches all over. "100% coverage" I had to have someone get me another box to redo any splotches. WORST DYE EVER DO NOT BUY
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCMay 17, 2016
We are very sorry for your experience and would like to help. Call us at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST. Give the rep reference #1117871
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No change in my hair

PostedMay 10, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
This review was submitted as a sweepstakes entry:No
This review was written as part of a free sample:No
I tried this product! There was no change in my dark hair! I was so excited for nothing! I usually LOVE garnier, but this was a total disappointment .
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy CCCMay 13, 2016
Hi Kayp! Sorry to hear you were not happy with your haircolor results. We want to help. Please call us at 1.800.442.7643 M-F,9A-7P, ET and give reference #1114454 when calling. Looking forward to hearing from you.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loving for over a year!

PostedApril 21, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I wanted a bright lovely shade of red instead of my natural medium brown color. I did some research and people have gotten results from R3. I tried it myself and have been a fan ever since. It is a beautiful color. If you take care of your hair well, you don't have to worry about breaking or the hair feeling unnatural. I love this product. My hair is so pretty and pigmented!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love

PostedApril 10, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I absolutely love this color. I've used it recently after every other red I tried failed me time and time again.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Did nothing

PostedApril 9, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I was very careful to follow the instructions exactly, but after the half hour was up I saw no changes in my hair color. I left it in a few minutes longer in hopes that I would see some change but nope. When my hair dried after washing my hair and using the conditioner, it was a complete damaged mess. Completely frizzy and my curls had no form. Despite ruining my hair texture, this did not change my hair color at all. I am disappointed in this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCApril 12, 2016
We are sorry that you did not get the color result that you expected. Let us help. Give us a call at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST. Give the rep reference #1016333
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT THE COLOR WE WERE EXPECTING

PostedMarch 30, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
My 17 yr old daughter just colored her hair.........she is red, I mean clown red! I am really not happy now because I will have to take her to the salon to strip it out. My daughter has brown hair, by the looks of the box her hair would be darker and have a tint of auburn, we even watched you tube videos before she bought this color.
Definitely NOT a color that is pleasing, especially for a girl who has her Senior pictures in a few weeks.
I use Garnier products all the time and am greatly pleased at how my hair turns out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCApril 6, 2016
We are very sorry to hear about your color result and would like to help. Call us at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST. Give the Rep ref #995793
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Red bleed

PostedJanuary 27, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I love the color, but everytime i wash my hair the red bleeds from it. Is that normal?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy!

PostedNovember 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair color:Brown
Color-treated hair:Yes
I have been using the R4 from the Ultra Color Reds & I decided to go back to brown. Since the red colored my hair so much I decided to try this color. WORST MISTAKE EVER!!!! It lightened my roots but my red is still clear as day to see. I wanted to have my hair dyed in time for Thanksgiving but now Im stuff with golden brown roots & red hair. Do not use if your wanting to switch colors for already colored hair!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccDecember 22, 2015
Let us make it right! give us a call @ 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Please give reference # 678153 We look forward to assisting
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BL26 I'm in love with you!

PostedDecember 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
Fell in love with this color upon first use. Intense shine, silky smooth feel. Under lights and sun I see firey red highlights and The rich brown/black color is very pretty. It covered my grays as well. I attached an image to show you what I'm talking about. Of course, everyone has their own base shade and tone so nobody will have my exact color or the same color on the box but it gives you an idea of what it looks like. Good luck everyone and I hope you all have great results!
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I don't dye my hair to often but for the last for years this is the only color I use. I get soooo many compliments looks like a dark brown-red indoors but and a fabulous deep red outdoors, I love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waist your money!

PostedOctober 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This product only lifted my roots and nothing else. Thank goodness it's not that expensive. Going to get it fixed up by a professional tomorrow. Do not use this product unless you still have your v card in coloring your hair. Only intended for natural dark hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCOctober 21, 2015
We are sorry to hear about your color result. We'd be happy to help you. Give us a call at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST Give the rep reference number 561368
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color R3 - Light Intense Auburn.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST RED OUT THERE

PostedOctober 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
Let me start by saying I always dye my hair black in the summer, and then in the fall I like to go back to red. Most people know going from dyed jet black hair to ANY color is next to impossible. I bought this dye on a whim because it's inexpensive and I didn't have much to lose. Mixed it up, put it on my hair and 25 minutes later, I had beautifully colored, red, even toned hair. I was thrilled!! My roots were even the same shade as the rest! Today I tried a "professional" red and it did not remove any black at all from my hair. Headed to Wal-mart to buy a box of this now! My only warning is - you must use this dye at least two times before it comes out the exact color as the model's hair. Mine WAS red the first application but it was not as vibrant so do not be discouraged! Wait two weeks and go again for brighter color!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

B3 Ultra Color - Golden Brown. Worked beautifully!

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I wanted to go a little lighter but was hesitant to use this color after reading so many negative reviews especially with different color roots. I now realize most of those people did not follow instructions.
I have naturally dark brown hair with some grays. I used another product in April 2015. I now have medium to dark reddish brown color with dark brown and gray roots.
Here’s my successful process:
First I did a test by snipping a sample of my hair from a long under layer at the roots and taped it together in the middle. Then I applied the dye for 30 minutes to evaluate any differences between the ends of my and the roots. There really wasn’t any difference.
Even though the test strands were OK I still followed instructions and applied the dye to the roots for a shorter time. I put the dye on my hair to the ends for 20-25 minutes, avoiding the roots. Then I covered the roots for the remaining 10 minutes. Now I have a consistent all over color that is lighter than before and has shimmering golden highlights. Grays are hidden. Yeay! :-)
I love the little packet of after conditioner – it makes your hair so soft.
Good luck to all!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have dark brown hair that is thin and lifeless. Have been coloring my hair for 20 years so I'm usually pretty good at picking colors. I wanted to go pretty light, without bleaching. I read the reviews after purchasing and was a little reluctant. Let the product on for abt 45 minutes, yes I know its more than advised, but the color came out GREAT. I turned out something like a strawberry blond. It was so much better than expected. Absolutely LOVE IT.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>