Customer reviews for LOREAL Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown

LOREAL Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown

Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating:
3.717 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(226 reviews) 226
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 226 reviews
5 Stars
117
4 Stars
31
3 Stars
19
2 Stars
15
1 Star
44
156 out of 226(69%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Review 1 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Red bleed

PostedJanuary 27, 2016
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I love the color, but everytime i wash my hair the red bleeds from it. Is that normal?
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not happy!

PostedNovember 24, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair color:Brown
Color-treated hair:Yes
I have been using the R4 from the Ultra Color Reds & I decided to go back to brown. Since the red colored my hair so much I decided to try this color. WORST MISTAKE EVER!!!! It lightened my roots but my red is still clear as day to see. I wanted to have my hair dyed in time for Thanksgiving but now Im stuff with golden brown roots & red hair. Do not use if your wanting to switch colors for already colored hair!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy cccDecember 22, 2015
Let us make it right! give us a call @ 1.800.442.7643 M-F 9AM-7PM EST. Please give reference # 678153 We look forward to assisting
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BL26 I'm in love with you!

PostedDecember 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
Fell in love with this color upon first use. Intense shine, silky smooth feel. Under lights and sun I see firey red highlights and The rich brown/black color is very pretty. It covered my grays as well. I attached an image to show you what I'm talking about. Of course, everyone has their own base shade and tone so nobody will have my exact color or the same color on the box but it gives you an idea of what it looks like. Good luck everyone and I hope you all have great results!
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT!!!

PostedDecember 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I don't dye my hair to often but for the last for years this is the only color I use. I get soooo many compliments looks like a dark brown-red indoors but and a fabulous deep red outdoors, I love it!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Don't waist your money!

PostedOctober 15, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
This product only lifted my roots and nothing else. Thank goodness it's not that expensive. Going to get it fixed up by a professional tomorrow. Do not use this product unless you still have your v card in coloring your hair. Only intended for natural dark hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy Consumer Care CenterCCCOctober 21, 2015
We are sorry to hear about your color result. We'd be happy to help you. Give us a call at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST Give the rep reference number 561368
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color R3 - Light Intense Auburn.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST RED OUT THERE

PostedOctober 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
Let me start by saying I always dye my hair black in the summer, and then in the fall I like to go back to red. Most people know going from dyed jet black hair to ANY color is next to impossible. I bought this dye on a whim because it's inexpensive and I didn't have much to lose. Mixed it up, put it on my hair and 25 minutes later, I had beautifully colored, red, even toned hair. I was thrilled!! My roots were even the same shade as the rest! Today I tried a "professional" red and it did not remove any black at all from my hair. Headed to Wal-mart to buy a box of this now! My only warning is - you must use this dye at least two times before it comes out the exact color as the model's hair. Mine WAS red the first application but it was not as vibrant so do not be discouraged! Wait two weeks and go again for brighter color!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

B3 Ultra Color - Golden Brown. Worked beautifully!

PostedAugust 31, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I wanted to go a little lighter but was hesitant to use this color after reading so many negative reviews especially with different color roots. I now realize most of those people did not follow instructions.
I have naturally dark brown hair with some grays. I used another product in April 2015. I now have medium to dark reddish brown color with dark brown and gray roots.
Here’s my successful process:
First I did a test by snipping a sample of my hair from a long under layer at the roots and taped it together in the middle. Then I applied the dye for 30 minutes to evaluate any differences between the ends of my and the roots. There really wasn’t any difference.
Even though the test strands were OK I still followed instructions and applied the dye to the roots for a shorter time. I put the dye on my hair to the ends for 20-25 minutes, avoiding the roots. Then I covered the roots for the remaining 10 minutes. Now I have a consistent all over color that is lighter than before and has shimmering golden highlights. Grays are hidden. Yeay! :-)
I love the little packet of after conditioner – it makes your hair so soft.
Good luck to all!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Better than expected

PostedAugust 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have dark brown hair that is thin and lifeless. Have been coloring my hair for 20 years so I'm usually pretty good at picking colors. I wanted to go pretty light, without bleaching. I read the reviews after purchasing and was a little reluctant. Let the product on for abt 45 minutes, yes I know its more than advised, but the color came out GREAT. I turned out something like a strawberry blond. It was so much better than expected. Absolutely LOVE IT.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Initially Dark, Fades To Pretty Red

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I absolutely love this colour! For a few days after dying my hair, it seems really dark, but the red is super intense in the sun. Eventually, it fades to a gorgeous auburn. I am absolutely in love with this colour because it gives me the best of both worlds. I highly recommend it.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color R3 - Light Intense Auburn.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

my favorite hair color

PostedAugust 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Split Ends
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I absolutely love this color. Has been my color going on 4years. I love the intensity and how long the color stays in hair too. Love love love
Yes, I recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT Recommended for black hair..

PostedJuly 22, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have black hair and used this product as it says its suitable for black hair. But my experience turned out to be very disappointing. It just turned by roots (hair near the scalp) brassy brown and rest of the hair remained black. So the result looks so bad, because only my root area is brassy brown and entire hair is still black. In such a bad situation right now. Cant get it fixed right away too, as its not good for the hair to color it repeatedly. Will have to wait some time to fix this mess. Feel like crying every time I see my hair. I don't believe this product is meant for black hair, as it shows on cover. PLEASE DON'T USE THIS COLOR IF U HAVE BLACK HAIR.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy CCCJuly 29, 2015
We are sorry you did not get the color result that you expected. We'd like to help. Give us a call at 800.442.7643 M-F 9-7 EST Give the rep reference number 345346
0points
6of 12voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Lovely Color but....

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I loved the color. It was amazing and super easy to apply. One trip to the swimming pool (6 days after coloring) and the ends of my hair are now brown instead of black! This product is great and smells good but it comes out super easy. It acts like a semi-permanent instead of permanent color. Never used Garnier before and probably won't again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

ugh!

PostedMay 29, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:25-34
I have naturally dark brown hair. Thought this would be a nice change. Wrong! Roots are brassy and color barely came through on the ends.
I need to fix this mess on my head and I don't know where to start.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Not a good idea to lighten dyed dark hair

PostedMay 25, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I didnt realize when i bought this that it was only intended for those with naturally dark hair. But i had the color mixed already and decided to give it a shot. I have medium brown hair naturally and the last time I dyed it, came out a very dark brown / black color. So had bought this to try and lighten it up a bit. What happened was the very dark dyed part of my hair stayed the same while my roots were lightened significantly. not sure what to do next but i wouldnt recommend this one for someone who is trying to lighten their dyed dark hair (as the box states)
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hair lightening color I can find!

PostedJune 23, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have yet to find anything that lightens my dark black hair better than this product. It does not pull any orange or coppery tones. It lightens my hair to nice golden brown color giving it a natural look with some highlights. It does not damage my hair like using a bleaching agent would do. It keeps my hair soft and mostly undamaged. I have been using this hair color for about 10 years and am 24 years old now!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color B3 - Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Total Waste of Money!

PostedMay 17, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have used this brand of hair color for over 15 years, I wanted to lighten up my dark brown hair for the summer, and decided to use their product that claims to change black hair 3 shades lighter. Since I have brown hair you would expect that I would get a light brown coloring...... Not the case, it didn't lighten my hair at all just brought the gray out more than when I started. Total waste of money and will be going to another brand to fix......
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color R3 - Light Intense Auburn.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

What went wrong?

PostedMay 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
Dissapointed. The first time i used this color it worked perfectly! But after this first use when i tried to redye it, certain spots wouldnt dye like the rest mostly my entire right side of hair. I'm relatively new to hair dying but my experience friend did it for me the first time and all the other times. For some reason it'll only dye my roots and certain areas of my hair.
No, I do not recommend this product.
Response from GarnierBy CCCMay 6, 2015
Sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience. Give us a call so we can explain why you you got the result that you did. 800.442.7643 Monday-Friday 9-7 EST
0points
5of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
This review is fromUltra Color R3 - Light Intense Auburn.
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Showed up very vibrant on my virgin hair!

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have never dyed my hair before, and I've always wanted to do it red. I'm scared of bleach, I'm seriously never considering it. So I researched, and this had the best results I could find and oh my god, this is amazing! It's very vibrant, but not to the point where it's crazy like fire engine red. It lasts a long time, about a month to a month and a half. Application and mixing was super easy, and my hair just looks so healthy and shiny.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this! Used twice & not disappointed!

PostedFebruary 19, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
For context - I have naturally dark brown hair, pale skin & hazel eyes.
Over the holidays I wanted to update my hair color - it had grown out blonde highlights over dark brown hair. My roots were bad! So I went to a new stylist to save time & money and asked for an all over dark chestnut color. It turned out horrible! It was this really dull soul sucking black. With my pale complexion I looked like the goth I was in high school (20 years ago!!!!) I am now an executive in a professional career so this was not a good look! I waited a week to see if the color would lighten. Nope. I still had one week left off on my holiday vacation and I took a risk to use this on top of the black to see if it lightened it. IT DID! I was very pleased - no, the black was not totally gone but this gave my hair a nice all over brown, with a rich shine & it left my hair so SOFT. I went out for New Years Eve & got lots of compliments on my all over color - no one said it was too dark. I went back to work after my vacation & the same. Nothing but compliments! I waited another four weeks (when my roots returned) and used this again to see if I could finally be rid of any remaining black - yes, again it worked. My hair is now the rich brown I had sought 8 weeks prior! I will definitely stick to this brand and color. Even it continues to lighten my hair I'm ok with it - that might be nice as I head into the spring/summer. Thanks Garnier for saving my sad dull hair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+9points
11of 13voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra Color B1 - Cool Brown
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Ultra Color BL26

PostedFebruary 18, 2015
Customer avatar
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I really really love this color. The only problem is that it is hard to find at my local retailers. I haven't ever even come across a color that is close to this in another brand. I wish it were more accessable but now maybe I will be online from now on. Please do not ever discontinue this color!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 12 next>>