Customer reviews for LOREAL Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)

LOREAL Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)

Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating:
3.732 / 5
3.7
 / 
5
(205 reviews) 205
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 205 reviews
5 Stars
105
4 Stars
30
3 Stars
18
2 Stars
14
1 Star
38
143 out of 205(70%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Review 1 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LOVE IT! <3

PostedJune 5, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
Im only 15 and my mom was superrrrr nervous putting in this color. We were both afraid of how it would turn out. but IT LOOKS AMAZING :) The only thing i would change is that the color bleeds... a whole lot. i wear a white school uniform. horrible mistake. its been alomost 3 weeks and the water in my color still doesnt run clear. im also too afraid to go swimming. other than that i get SO many compliments on it. Im dying it again soon :) it also fades too fast for my taste.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+43points
44of 45voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome hair dye!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
Customer avatar
NiaMarie18
from Florida
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I'm turning 16 next month and I really wanted to completely change my hair. I had bleached blonde streaks in it a year ago for my 15th birthday, and I wanted to go red. This dye didn't take me to the red-velvet red I wanted right away, but I'm getting there! I have naturally really dark brown hair, and I'm so surprised this hair dye actually colored it. Maybe one or two more dyes and I'll get the red-velvet I want! :D In the sun the color is amazing. But like others said, the color does bleed. I dyed it a little over two weeks ago and it still runs a bit in the shower, but the color is so pretty, and with the blonde it gave me highlights. :3 I totally recommend this. It didn't dry out my hair or anything, and I use heat on it a lot. I love this dye, I'm so going to keep using it!
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
33of 36voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love It

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
mrsliz
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I had a medium brown with highlights and was afraid to go too dark and end up with green highlights cause of the base colors. i took a chance with this one and i love it. it was easy love the creme texture.
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
26of 27voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great, vibrant color without damage

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Customer avatar
Emily27
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
This is a great product. I'll keep this short and sweet.
I have medium-dark brown hair. I wanted a vibrant cherry red and after reading reviews I decided to go with this one and crossed my fingers. I've attached a photo of the result... It was very sunny when I took the photo so you will see how the tones reflect in the natural light. When indoors, the color comes off much deeper like a black-cherry color.
I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!
WARNING: many reviewers stated that this turned their hair "clown red". Please note: I would not recommend this color for light hair. This color is great for dark-haired girls who would like to go RED.
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Product!

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Customer avatar
Andrea
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
My hair is naturally dark brown to the point that people often think it's black. Because of this, most hair dye doesn't work on my hair. I tried this product as soon as I heard about it, and it worked great. Looked great in all lighting and it was really soft and shiny. The smell is actually quite pleasant unlike most other brands, and the color lasts incredibly long. Garnier got it right.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

I loved it so much!

PostedNovember 6, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
Age:0-17
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
Okay, I had died my hair black a couple months before I had used this color. I saw it in the store one day and was like, "Oh m gosh, I want this." So I bought it. I was afraid that it wouldn't work because it said ' best used for virgin hair' basically, but I gave it a chance. Now my results weren't completely spot on with the box, but I still loved it. The red went great with my skin tone. I still had that hint of brown in my hair( the black had faded to a dark brown) but the red was definitely overpowering it. When I ran track, people would yell out "FIRE" and things like that. So by commentary, I definitely knew it was red. I love this color so so much. and I would recommend this product 100%. It does work on dyed hair, though it may not be as "vibrant" as you are wishing, it still very much does your hair justice(: GOOD LUCK.
oh-- and the price was amazing for what I got.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+27points
30of 33voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Love this product!

PostedJanuary 28, 2012
Customer avatar
Amanda
from Shelbyville, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
There is not to many options for people with black hair, unless you bleach your hair...this color is amazing... finally you can do something different with black hair and not damage it! Love!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
20of 20voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Beats the Alternative

PostedNovember 19, 2012
Customer avatar
Anonymous
from Lawrence, KS, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I originally have extremely dark brown hair. This is my second time using the Light Intense Auburn shade and it turned out better but mainly because I was just re-dying and when dying red over red it makes it brighter.
The first time I used it I had previously stripped the old color (which was black) out of my hair so I was a bit wary when using the ultra color formula. I didn't want to bleach my hair and have to mess around with other dyes.
The first time, if your hair is brown, it'll turn out a really dark auburn. Wait about 4 weeks, dye it again and it'll turn out better. I'm sure by the third time I re-dye it'll turn out like on the box. But that's expected from red hair dye.
I'm happy with the outcome. It's different and I'm still amazed at how it works- definitely is better than damaging your hair with bleach!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Love the color

PostedJuly 29, 2012
Customer avatar
Kathi
from York, Pa.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I have very dark brown hair, this color made my hair a beautiful light golden brown, I also had highlights before using this color and the highlights stayed, it looks amazing.....thank you for this product.....I will definately use it again....I have always used Garnier Nutrisse hair color and Loved the results....now even more!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
28of 32voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Loved it!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Customer avatar
Lilly27
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Dry
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
Okay- so, I never give reviews about products I use, however after reading all your comments before I colored my hair and seeing the results I had to come back to give you guys my review.
First and foremost let me tell you that my results were better then what I was expecting. My hair its dark brown and so demaged that I didnt think it was going to work but it did! Now my hair is so shiny, has the perfect color red I was looking for, not too red but noticibly red! and the best part is that it didnt demage my hair. The color is nice and even from roots to end...
I kow some of you were saying your roots came out to be way too light, the reason behind this is the fact that the closer you get to the sclap the warmer it gets, I started by dying my hair from the ends to the roots. I first did my ends and left it for about 30 minutes before I moved up to the middle of my hair (or until you see it lighter) then, I did from the middle up to a few inches from the roots, and then I did my roots last. I had it on for a good hour before I did my roots. My roots turned red in about 10 minutes! so I would say the whole procces was an hour and ten minutes. I also did it on my eyebrows and letf it for about 7 minutes, now my brows and hair color match! and it does look FANTASTIC!!!!
I think is worth trying. I am very happy with my results and every one has complemented my new color even prople I don't even know!
Also, let me tell you that when you use red color on your hair the water will always run red... (somenthing I was expecting to happend# surprisingly it didnt. At the begining as I was washing the color away it did but then, the water was nice and clear!
little tip: If you want your color to last use shampoo and conditioner that will protect your hair color#products for color treated hair)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
22of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Nice color

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Customer avatar
Udder
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
My hair is medium brown to dark brown and this made my hair a very pretty color. I ended up getting a mix of the the first and second bubbles on the side of the box.
For those complaining that it kept running weeks after... o.0?
I mixed everything together and then let it sit for 1-2 hrs so the mixture was a dark maroon color. I added it to my hair, which was unwashed for about 24 hrs, and let it sit for 30 min.
Afterwards, I rinsed it until the water ran CLEAR. No pink at all, then added conditioner.
Washed my hair the following day, no pink water at all.
My husband loves the color as well.
The smell is annoying, but most dyes are.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Did the job

PostedApril 14, 2012
Customer avatar
HelpfulDiva
from Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I used this today as I wanted to lighten my dark brown hair and have not been able to do so with other hair dyes. This did the job. I'm happy with the results.
The only negative for me is that it did not completely cover the gray hair around my hair line. But I knew this before I started because it mentions it on the box.
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+20points
23of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Coloring over dark hair color

PostedJune 7, 2013
Customer avatar
hellokitty727
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
For the person who decided to try and color over preiviously colored hair..ive been a stylist for 23 years...please remember color will not lift color...so if you are putting a color on your hair that is lighter then the color you have already put on your hair, its going to do nothing...donr waste your time and money...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+17points
18of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Amazing color, Fades quickly

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Customer avatar
Lysa
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Split Ends
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
I bought this color a day before my high school graduation and I have naturally dark black hair and I've always had blonde highlights. I colored my hair the medium intense auburn and I fell in love with the color but there were patches of my hair that were slightly lighter than others and The color kept running every time I washed my hair. within a week of having dyed my hair, the beautiful reddish-auburn color that I fell in love with faded and now it's a horrid, slightly dull, brownish-orange color... I'm slightly disappointed
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
22of 25voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

More compliments than you can imagine!

PostedDecember 1, 2013
Customer avatar
Noah
from Florida
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I noticed this color in Target one day and decided to try it. I've been using it for almost two years and I've been complimented on the color more times than I can count. I'm a guy with naturally ashy brown hair that almost has a gray tint, and this color saturates and adds vibrancy to my hair so well that I love it. Not only that, it lasts for almost 2 months, including a haircut. It results in very vibrant ginger-hued auburn color that looks great in comparison to my original color. I'm not sure how well it would look on someone with other natural color, but I know it works superb for me. It also leaves my hair softer than it naturally is, miraculously. Recommend this to everyone looking for super-vibrant color!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

love it!!!

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Customer avatar
melgoofo
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
this color came out great!..exactly like the box!..at first i was skeptical about the shade, but the overall ending came out better than i expected..i have naturally black hair...went from black,red,brown, and back to black. going to keep this color for a long time..thanks garnier!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Beautiful But Messy

PostedDecember 9, 2012
Customer avatar
ShelJT
from Roseburg, OR, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Damaged
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I, like many of those who are discussing this shade, have a LOT of trouble getting the water to run clear. It literally takes WEEKS. However, that is the only bad thing about this shade.
The color is gorgeous. I like the vibrancy of the shade. I have been coloring my hair to cover the gray since I was in my early 20s. With fair skin, green eyes, and freckles, I figured the dark brown hair was simply an oversight that I could correct. This color really sets my hair on fire but I love it! The gray turns out BRIGHT red and looks like highlights mixed in with the darker intense red. The color doesn't fade too quickly either and when it does, it just fades to a acceptable reddish brown.
The smell isn't too bad compared to other dyes.
I don't feel that Nutrisse has damaged my fragile hair. It was bad already! LOL
I will continue to use this color, however I think they have discontinued my previous favorite shade...#69 Sweet Pepper (Intense Auburn.)
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
15of 15voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Red!

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Customer avatar
Shakirahlenlove
from Duluth, GA, USA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have used many different brands to get a red. They all lasted a short while and did not have much of a difference in color. I have relaxed hair and this product only dried my ends a little (I left it on an hour) and after a protein treatment my ends were good as new. I will be using this again. I would suggest to anyone who has dark hair to live it on an hour and start at the ends not the roots.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+18points
21of 24voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

I wish I could give this more stars!

PostedJuly 26, 2013
Customer avatar
Ammi
from Wichita, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have dark brown, long, curly hair and have constantly used this product for about a year now. I get SO many compliments on my hair color. People come up to me at the grocery store, at the hospital, at work, will get up from their table at a restaurant just to come tell me how much they love my hair color. I could seriously be a walking advertisement for this product! I always reply "Thanks! I get it out of a box!" Then I tell them what it is. I've never been sooo dedicated and loved a product sooo much. This was just a genius idea, coming up with a boxed hair color that holds to dark hair!
User submitted photo
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ultra Color B2 - Reddish Brown (Roasted Coffee)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best red hair dye ever !

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Customer avatar
steffyV
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
To start of i am inlove with this product!Not only was the color so vibrant and beautiful it left my hair feeling so soft,shiny,and managable.People's mistake on this product is they dont research what its for and how to use it.Only for darker hair naturally!i bleached my hair and made it a lighter brown but hated it i just wanted to stick with a darker color like i am naturally and decided for a rich red color i started with my ends for 30 min and then applied to roots for 30 min it came out perfect and even but on my hair i needed two boxes.My hair was so unmanagable before and after use i was soo happy with it and cant stop touching it.yes its red so it bleeds but for me it bled for two washes and that's it hope this helps anyone that had questions:) !
Yes, I recommend this product.
+15points
16of 17voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 11 next>>