Customer reviews for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Garnier.

Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste

Got the beach in your soul? Get surf in your hair.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(124 reviews) 124
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 124 reviews
5 Stars
107
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
15
113 out of 124(91%)reviewers recommend
Customer reviews for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Review 1 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please don't discontinue! Surf Hair rules!

PostedJanuary 10, 2013
Customer avatar
Chase21
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I've tried all the cream styling products, some of which cost 4 times or more what Surf Hair does. Nothing matches the just-right hold and styling, with no stiffness and a natural look.
If you're creating a new product that's just like it, I haven't seen it. Nothing can beat Surf Hair: Please add my vote to bring it back! Thanks Garnier!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+31points
31of 31voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BEST. PRODUCT. EVER.

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Jason
from Illinois
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I too, have used this product for years and became distraught when I was no longer able to find it. The wife and I dedicated a day to visiting every store we thought would carry this product with no success. All are carrying the new similar pure clean product that just doesn't compare to the surf hair texture paste...it's very greasy and does not have the same hold or look. I have very fine hair, which too many products just weigh down my hair. Not this product, however. Please, please tell me hasn't been discontinued...
Yes, I recommend this product.
+30points
30of 30voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PLEASE BRING BACK THIS PRODUCT ASAP!!!

PostedJanuary 29, 2013
Customer avatar
mattsurf25
from Albuquerque, NM, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
This product is great! I've been using this surf hair paste for at least 10 years now and absolutely NOTHING compares to it.
-Holds your hair in place
-Smells good
-The old container is bigger (5.1oz) than the new product container (3oz) and was cheaper than the new product for more of it.
-The new Power Putty Surfer Hair product does not feel the same and does not hold and style hair the same way as the Surf Hair Texture Paste.
-The new container is bulky and oddly shaped whereas the old product container is round and fits much easier into your hand or a bag or any other place.
-The Power Putty Surfer Hair also seems to be a wetter product whereas the surf hair texture paste was more of a dry paste, which worked better in my hair.
I miss the old Surf Hair Texture Paste. It is far better than the new surf hair junk that Garnier Fructis has replaced it with. Please bring the Surf Hair Texture Paste back immediately, especially for the loyal customers who love this product and continually buy and use it. I have used this product for 10 years and I'm frustrated that Garnier Fructis would suddenly discontinue it and replace it with a product that is junk, costs more and gives you less with each container. PLEASE BRING IT BACK!!!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Discontinued

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Jeffro66
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
Found your new version of Surf Hair at Wal Mart..Its horrible and smells even worse. Please bring back the old formula.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please don't discontinue!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
loveSH
from Brooklyn, NY, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I couldn't agree more with the other reviewers. I haven't found anything that comes close to this product. So pliable without being hard, it's amazing. Maybe you're rebranding the "Surf Hair" name? PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE do not change the product itself. I have tried your new "Pure Clean Finishing Paste" thinking that it may be Surf Hair rebranded, but it is not at all. It's way too sticky. At the very least, please continue to make this available for online purchasing by the loyal customers that have grown to depend on it! An update to all of us on the state of the product and it's availability going forward would be greatly appreciated -- if we have to bite the bullet and try something new it's better we do that now than travel to all drugstores and Targets, Wal-Marts, etc. in a 20 mile radius looking for more Surf Hair.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Where has all the Surf Hair gone???

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Customer avatar
MrsJones
from MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
This is by far THE BEST hair styling product on the market! I have been using it for at least the past 5 or 6 years. I ran out of my current supply two weeks ago and now I can NOT find it anywhere. Not online, not on shelves. It has disappeared. Is it being discontinued? I have no clue what I will do if that is the case because I don't like anything else out there.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+29points
29of 29voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Seriously?

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
ATCHI
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Oily
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Dry or Dull
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
This is absolutely ridiculous. You take a product that is loved by many and replace it with something in a larger, less-convenient container, filled with less of a product that no one wanted, and costing more than the larger quantity of the product that we were looking for to begin with. I’ve used nothing but this on my hair for longer than I can remember and have found nothing that even begins to compare.
It would be one thing it raise the price. It would be one thing to change the appearance. It would be one thing to decrease the volume. You couldn’t seem to do any of those things alone but had to combine them and give us something we don’t want on top of it. Utterly deplorable.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

The Demise of the Great Hair Day

PostedJanuary 13, 2013
Customer avatar
ReturnOfTheFrizz
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Curly
Why is Garnier discontinuing a product that is truly exceptional and unique? I have been through all the different mousses and gels and sprays and NOTHING works even close to as well as Surf Hair on my long and extremely curly orange hair. It is the perfect hair product and responsible for many a great hair day. For the love of no frizz and no crunch, bring it back!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best Hair Product Ever - DO NOT DISCONTINUE

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Customer avatar
SurfHair4Life
from Orange, CA, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I have been using Garnier Surf Hair for the passed 10+ years and have found no other substitute. This particular hair product works better than gel, mousse, hair spray, you name it. I have thin, fine hair and this product makes my hair stylable.
I've gone to three different stores to purchase more of this product as I usually do and they are no where to be found. Please tell me you are not discontinuing this product. You have got to be kidding me!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+28points
28of 28voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best hair product

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
Kraykray
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Been using this for years all of a sudden I can't find it...where did it go?!?!? Please don't discontinue!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

What happened to the Surf Hair???

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
jmjanecek
from San Marcos, TX, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I think I'm the only male writing a review for this product but I have used this stuff forever and now I can't find it where I live. I have tried Walgreen's, CVS, Target and HEB...none of them have it. I used to be able to get Surf Hair at all of these stores.
Did Garnier discontinue Surf Hair?
If not, please send some to the 78666 Zip-code.
Thanks!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+27points
27of 27voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

PLEASE bring back surf hair

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
Kyle
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
There truly is no other product out there that matches Surf Hair. I had been trying for years and years to find a product that could really pull off the "bed head" look and I've been so happy the last 5 years with this product. Nothing else compares. Please PLEASE bring this product back!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

LISTEN TO YOUR CUSTOMERS!

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Customer avatar
bringSURFHAIRback
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I made an account just to add my voice to the uproar. YOU NEED TO BRING THIS GREAT PRODUCT BACK!!! I ran out a month ago and am now going on a month of bad hair days.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Please don't discontinue!!! This is the best!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
ActiveP
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I have been using this product for 5-10 years. It's the best paste on the market. Please do not discontinue!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring it back!!!

PostedJanuary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
FlatHairNow
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I, too, have been using this great product for years and years and have found nothing that matches it. It would be a huge mistake to discontinue it. Bring it back!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+25points
25of 25voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

5 stars to the old product

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Customer avatar
GDEC
from Sarasota, Fl
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Frizzy or Thick
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
Bring back the previous formulation! This was the best hair product I have ever used. I used this for 4 years after trying many other inferior products. Bring it back!
1 Star for the new version (2013) of this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

THE BEST HAIR PRODUCT TO SPIKE UP MY HAIR

PostedJanuary 8, 2013
Customer avatar
ChiitownKruger
from Chicago, IL, USA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
IVE BEEN USING IT FOR ABOUT 5 YEARS AND I AM KNOWN FOR MY HAIR BY EVERYONE ITS AMAZING AND NOW I CANT FIND IT ANY WHERE THIS IS NOT GOOD PLEASE SEND ME A TRUCK FULL TO MY HOUSE I NEED IT
Yes, I recommend this product.
+24points
24of 24voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Bring back Surf Hair!!

PostedFebruary 18, 2013
Customer avatar
WantMySurfHair
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Black
Hair type:Normal
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I can't believe your company took this product off the market!
I have bought 3 other similar products since I ran out of Surf Hair, and none works the same, or gives my hair the kind of texture Surf Hair does!
I don't feel pretty without my favorite product!
I won't be buying any more products made by your company until you bring back my Surf Hair!
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

NOO!!! Please bring this product back!

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Customer avatar
dgille4
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Hair color:Brown
Color-treated hair:Yes
PLEASE PLEASE bring this product back! My fiance and I both love it and it not only worked great to hold either his style or my waves in a natural, non greasy way, but the smell was also awesome! We have tried your new "surf hair" product in with the mens section at the grocery store and the smell is overwhelming and very masculine - my throat has been sore all day since I put it on and we will be returning it. Please bring back the old stuff - there was nothing wrong with it! I also think the packaging on the new product seems like a lot of excess plastic. :(
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Garnier - Fructis Style - Surf Hair - Texture Paste
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Very Disappointed

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
Drew
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Medium
I was very disappointed to find out that Garnier was discontinuing the Surf Hair product. Since I started using it about 5 years ago, it has by far been the BEST hair product I have ever used. Does anyone know if there is a different Garnier (or other brand) that makes a product similar to Surf Hair?
Yes, I recommend this product.
+23points
23of 23voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>