Customer reviews for LOREAL Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde

LOREAL Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde

Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating:
3.317 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(407 reviews) 407
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 407 reviews
5 Stars
163
4 Stars
55
3 Stars
39
2 Stars
48
1 Star
102
254 out of 407(62%)reviewers recommend
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer reviews for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Review 301 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Disappointed

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Customer avatar
Jrzslp
from New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Medium
Pros: Pleasant scent, kept hair soft
Initially, hair felt dry and coarse, like brillo! But on the second day, I re-washed my hair and discovered hair was still slightly bleeding color. Wash hair twice with shampoo and that it seemed to have done the trick at getting of the product out! Lets see what happens day three...
Cons: Poor gray hair coverage
Not "100% gray coverage" as the box states and I don't have a lot of grays! My whole point in coloring is to cover my grays, so if this product cannot get the job done, there is no point in my buying it again...
Ran out of product to go back and add 2nd application to gray hair area (and I have a short bob, usually 1 bottle does it for me!)
I used product color 6.43 Light Natural Auburn
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 302 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
This review is fromOlia 4.0 - Dark Brown.
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Good product

PostedMarch 4, 2013
Customer avatar
Bene
Liked the product. Colored hair well. Covered grays well. What I do not like is the delivery system. Most people that will color their hair have gray hair. Gray hair means an older client. The mixing jar is too round and too big to fit in a older person's hand. Coupled with the fact that I have arthritis the mixing jar becomes the bottom of the applicator. It was too hard to hold and squeeze out the product on my hair. I would switch from the my current product that I use today and use Olia exclusively if not for this flaw in the delivery system
Yes, I recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 303 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Didn't work

PostedFebruary 12, 2013
Customer avatar
stldenise
from St. Louis, MO, USA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Brown
Hair type:Oily
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
On the plus side, it did smell great, but it just didn't work for me. I have naturally brownish-blonde hair that I'm trying to push to auburn. I picked the intense light auburn and had spotty results. The front of my head is bright freakin' red, the undersides of my hair are still brownish and I have splotches of altering auburn and brown through out.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 304 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

great product but color not true

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Customer avatar
redhot
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Curly
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I love the idea and the product but the color is not true. I used the light natural auburn only to get dark golden brown on my naturally light strawberry red hair. I love the oils, smell, and no mess texture. There was no damage to my hair but I had to recolor with Red Henna to get the red I was suppose to get with the Garnier. I use Lush brand Henna dyes most of the time. There's no damage from them and your hair gets helthier over time but every one in awhile I try something new. If Garnier fixes the issue with the color not being true (turned out brown and not red) to what the box says then it would be a good product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 305 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5

disappointed despite the lovely color

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Customer avatar
bumblebee
from Cleveland, Ohio
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Skin type:Normal
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:No
Skin tone:Light
I tried Olia with pretty high hopes because I am a fan of your nutrisse products. I chose light intense auburn which is a color similar to what I normally choose in nutrisse.
First, the pros: I covered my entire head (untreated with color) with no problems, as I have been coloring my own hair for years. The smell of the dye was great and didn't burn my eyes in the process. It also took only one coloring kit to cover my whole head of long hair, when usually I need two!
Now the cons: When it came to discovering the color after rinsing it out, I was shocked. It was far from the color on the box and it did not take in several spots, even though I thoroughly applied it everywhere. The color washed out of my hairline and there were patches of my natural color and a mix of my natural and the Olia color spread all throughout my hair. It was very disappointing and I do not want to ruin my hair so I have to just wait this one out. Another drawback is that even after 6 separate washings with harsh shampoo it was still bleeding out bright red in the shower and it hardly faded even with dawn. It made me really sad, so needless to say I will be going back to using the nutrisse system.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 306 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Embarrassing coverage

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Fattythenumchuck
Age:35-44
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Red
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
I have fine, thin shoulder length hair that is regularly colored by a stylist.
I wanted to refresh my color between appointments, and youtube tutorials interested me in Garnier Olia.
I read the instructions the night before I colored my hair with this product. The next day, I followed the instructions and colored my hair. Roots sat 20 minutes. Re-colored ends sat for 10.
When I rinsed and dried my hair, the color was beautiful and vibrant around my face. The back and ends of my hair took none of the color, period.
The contrast makes the colored roots look Ronald McDonald red, and my ends look ashy.
Awful.
Also, the color bleeds terribly - but maybe that will fade the color and make the contrast less striking.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 307 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

NOT at all as expected

PostedJune 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Gorgeous77
from Eastern U. S.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Sensitive
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
HORRIBLE!!! Light Auburn came out DARK fire engine red. I will spend weeks getting this Halloween color out of my hair while trying to create as little damage to my hair as possible. It is not possible to do that without damage and I know it. VERY upset with this product. On the positive side, I did not have an allergic reaction to it and my hair is in good condition. But, man! The color is just awful!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 308 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
This review is fromOlia 6.3 - Light Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Not True to Color Even When Went up Few Shades

PostedJune 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Kay23
The olia color i used was the 6.3 1/2 lightest golden brown (selection unavailable from drop down menu). From past experience and use of boxed hair color products i went up a few shades lighter to achieve a light brown color i wanted. I have dark brown virgin hair. My hair after dyeing is not light brown at all. Its more of a deep chocolate now, oh and the roots are lighter. Unhappy :( .
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 309 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Useless and a waste of money

PostedJune 3, 2014
Customer avatar
AmyJo
from Alberta, Canada
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Used this product and followed all instructions and left colour on for a long length of time and there was no colour change at all!!! It was a waste of my time and money. Now I have to go pay more money and try and re-colour it again with a different brand and hope it works better than Garnier.... I am not happy and will not be wasting an money money on Garnier products...
I would give this 0/5 stars
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 310 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
This review is fromOlia 3.0 - Darkest Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

would not reccommend

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
audpod34
My roommate was really excited to try this hair dye out because ammonia based dyes don't hold in her hair. so we tried out this and it was not what we thought at all. The bottle is weirdly shaped which makes it hard to grip and shake to mix the color, i feared it wasn't mixing correctly. also, it was spotty color once we washed and dried her hair. her old color still showed through and we were only dyeing it a little bit darker. she still reports two weeks later that color is still washing out of her hair in the shower. and she has to wash her hair more often than usual because of the dry gross feeling it has left her with. this product was a severe disappointment
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 311 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
This review is fromOlia 7.0 - Dark Blonde.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

worst ever

PostedMay 5, 2014
Customer avatar
AprilB1130
from Tampa, FL, USA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Skin type:Combination
Hair color:Blonde
Hair type:Fine or Flat
Color-treated hair:Yes
Skin tone:Light
My hair is so messed up by this product it's unbelievable. I used the dark blonde and my hair is some funky shade of brown. I'm totally embarrassed of my hair. It made my hair dry and like straw. DO NOT USE THIS PRODUCT !!!!!!
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 312 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

this stuff did a really bad job

PostedApril 16, 2014
Customer avatar
Christyj
I've been using hair colour on and off for the last 10 years I saw this and thought it might work better because it claimed it covered grey and would give a good colour. It did not cover the roots and was hit and miss all over my head and I've been doing this, so I know how to use hair colour. I followed the directions - it was hit and miss on the root and other areas of the head and what did get covered looks odd. I've used other products and had my hair done at a salon. I've never seen anything like this. There are no words to describe this -- I don't even want to leave the house it looks so bad. I do not want to try to fix with another brand because it's not good for the hair. Is there any way to fix this ? It did NOT cover the roots , I made sure the roots were done first like I always do and have never had a problem with other products I've used in the past.
User submitted photo
No, I do not recommend this product.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 313 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

No Stars, Packaging is the downfall of this product.

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Customer avatar
Passionate
While I like my color results, and the texture of my hair after coloring with Olia, I will not purchase this product in the future.
1. I was unalbe to tell when all the product was out of #1, because the container is stiff plastic.
2. The instructions say to shake the mixing bottle until #1
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 314 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Worst Ever

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
BrennaD
from Williamsburg, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I tried this product because of the oil, I thought that it would be less harsh on my hair and smelling better was a plus too. I WAS SO WRONG I now have a inconsistent color and it is extremely messy to use. I have been coloring my hair for years and this was the worst. I am going to have to wear my pony tail till it fades because the color looks to bad. I normally like garner products but this not the up to par.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 315 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Only complaint is applicator bottle leaked and lost a lot of product because of it.

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Customer avatar
Pineyprincess33
I wouldn't buy this product again. Color wasn't what I expected and applicator bottle is poor design.
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 316 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
This review is fromOlia 5.0 - Medium Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Love the product; HATE the packaging

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
SueM
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Due to my skin sensitivities, I can't use an ammonia based product. So I was very happy to finally find a permanent color with no ammonia. I've used it twice, and I'm sorry to say I won't be buying it again. The packaging is horrible!! First, why can't the developer already be in the applicator bottle like other brands? Wasteful. The gloves come in a little zip lock pouch that can be difficult to open. And the gloves themselves are so slippery! The applicator bottle is bulb shaped and VERY hard to hold without it slipping out of your hands (and flinging haircolor everywhere when it does).
I use tons of other Garnier products and love them, but this one leaves a lot to be desired. If packaging changes - I'll buy again.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 317 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Love the color - but that's about it

PostedMarch 1, 2014
Customer avatar
beffy
the color itself turned out great. I was concerned that there wouldn't be enough product to cover all my hair. The color took twice as long as I am used to for rinsing out. I thought it would never run clear. Two weeks after coloring, the grey hairs were back and my roots looked like it had been months since I colored it. I am extremely disappointed overall with the product. It does not last very well.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 318 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
This review is fromOlia 6.3 - Light Golden Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Product is unsattisfactory.

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Customer avatar
j08817
I had a lot of trouble with the applicator bottle slipping out of my hands while applying the color. The bulbous shape is difficult to hold and impossible to control when you have on gloves that are wet. The color itself worked allright and the timing was acceptable. But the conditioner did not work at all. My hair was very tangled and felt coarse after rinsing. I expected the conditioner to smooth it out and make it softer but it got worse after conditioning. I have colored my hair for years using various prodcuts including Garnier. I am very disappointed in Olio.
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 319 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
This review is fromOlia 3.0 - Darkest Brown.
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

My hair is healthy and shiny, BUT the color DID NOT stay true!

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Customer avatar
Finots5
I have used Garnier products for years with great satisfaction. This is the first time I would NOT recommend
one of their products. The Olia hair color kept my hair soft, shiny and healthy, but faded after the first wash. I even used the recommended shampoo for color treated hair.
It doesn't even look like I colored it. The only thing that didn't fade was my roots....I would not recommend this product.
No, I do not recommend this product.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 320 for Olia 8.13 - Champagne Blonde
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

I am really disappointed in this product.

PostedFebruary 14, 2014
Customer avatar
RedForever
From start to finish, the coloring experience was unpleasant. The gloves were small and ripped. The conditioner was difficult to get out of its tube. The applicator was difficult to use. The coloring mixture was thin and runny. There was red dye everywhere. Then when I looked in the mirror afterwards, to my dismay the color was uneven. My roots and grey were not covered. The color on my hair (the part that was covered) was much brighter than the picture on the box. What a waste of my money. I will never use this product again. My only question is how long do I have to wait until I can recolor with a decent product?
No, I do not recommend this product.
+2points
5of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 ... 14 15 16 17 18 ... 21 next>>